Search Legislation

The County of Mid Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988

What Version

 Help about what version
  • Latest available (Revised)
  • Original (As made)


This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Statutory Instruments

1988 No. 366


The County of Mid Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988


2nd March 1988

Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972((1)), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 22nd July 1987 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the County of Mid Glamorgan:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1.  This Order may be cited as the County of Mid Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988.

2.  This Order shall come into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1989 (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983((2))) except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force on 10th October 1988.

3.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Mid Glamorgan shall be abolished and that County shall be divided into seventy-four electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each electoral division shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division constituted by this Order shall be one.

4.  The ordinary elections of all councillors for the County of Mid Glamorgan shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of county councillors in 1989 and every fourth year thereafter.

Home Office

Douglas Hurd

One of Her Majesty’s Principal Secretaries of State

2nd March 1988

Article 3(1)


1. Name of new electoral division2. Area of new electoral division
In the Borough of Cynon Valley
Aberaman NorthThe Aberaman North ward
Aberaman SouthThe Aberaman South ward
AbercynonThe Abercynon ward
Aberdare EastThe Aberdare East ward
Aberdare WestThe Aberdare West and Llwydcoed wards
CwmbachThe Cwmbach ward
HirwaunThe Hirwaun, Pen-y-waun and Rhigos wards
Mountain AshThe Mountain Ash East and Mountain Ash West wards
PenrhiwceiberThe Penrhiwceiber ward
YnysybwlThe Ynysybwl ward
In the Borough of Merthyr Tydfil
CyfarthfaThe Cyfarthfa ward
DowlaisThe Dowlais ward
GurnosThe Gurnos ward
Merthyr ValeThe Merthyr Vale ward
ParkThe Park and Vaynor wards
PenydarrenThe Penydarren ward
PlymouthThe Plymouth ward
TownThe Town ward
TreharrisThe Bedlinog and Treharris wards
In the Borough of Ogwr
BettwsThe Bettws and Ynysawdre wards
BracklaThe Brackla ward
CaerauThe Caerau and Nantyffyllon wards
CornellyThe Cornelly ward
Cwm GarwThe Blaengarw, Llangeinor and Pontycymmer wards
Cwm OgwrThe Blackmill, Nant-y-moel and Ogmore Vale wards
LalestonThe Laleston ward
Coity Higher and Morfa wards
Maesteg EastThe Maesteg East ward
Maesteg WestThe Maesteg West ward
NewcastleThe Newcastle and Oldcastle wards
Newcastle HigherThe Llangynwyd and Newcastle Higher wards
PencoedThe Pencoed ward
Porthcawl EastThe Porthcawl East ward
Porthcawl WestThe Porthcawl West ward
PyleThe Cefn Cribwr and Pyle wards
St. Bride’s MajorThe Coychurch Lower and St. Bride’s Major wards
St. Bride’s MinorThe St. Bride’s Minor ward
In the Borough of Rhondda
CymmerThe Cymmer ward
FerndaleThe Ferndale and Maerdy wards
PentreThe Pentre ward
Pen-y-graigThe Pen-y-graig ward
PorthThe Porth and Ynyshir wards
TonypandyThe Cwm Clydach and Tonypandy wards
TrealawThe Llwyn-y-pia and Trealaw wards
TreherbertThe Treherbert ward
TreorchyThe Treorchy ward
TylorstownThe Tylorstown ward
YstradThe Ystrad ward
In the District of Rhymney Valley
Aber ValleyThe Aber Valley ward
BargoedThe Bargoed and Gilfach wards
BedwasThe Maesycwmmer ward, the Bedwas ward of the Community of Bedwas and Machen and the Parcyfelin ward of the Community of Caerphilly
BedweltyThe Aberbargoed and New Tredegar wards
CascadeThe Cascade, Cefn Hengoed and Tir-y-berth wards of the Community of Gelligaer
Darren ValleyThe Abertysswg, Darren Valley, Pontlottyn and Tir-Phil wards
LlanbradachThe Llanbradach ward and the Energlyn ward of the Community of Penyrheol
MachenThe Machen ward and the Trethomas ward of the Community of Bedwas and Machen
NelsonThe Nelson ward and the Greenhill ward of the Community of Gelligaer
PenyrheolThe Penyrheol and Trecenydd wards of the Community of Penyrheol
RhymneyThe Moriah and Twyn Carno wards
St. JamesThe St. James ward and the Tonyfelin ward of the Community of Caerphilly
St. MartinsThe St. Martins ward and the Bryncenydd ward of the Community of Caerphilly
Ystrad MynachThe Ystrad Mynach ward and the Hengoed ward of the Community of Gelligaer
In the Borough of Taff-Ely
LlanharanThe Brynna, Llanharan and Llanharry wards
Llantrisant TownThe Llantrisant Town and Talbot Green wards
Llantwit FardreThe Church Village and Llantwit Fardre wards
Pont-y-ClunThe Creigiau and Pont-y-Clun wards
RhonddaThe Graig, Pontypridd Town and Rhondda wards
RhydfelenThe Hawthorn, Ilan, Rhydfelen Central and Rhydfelen Lower wards
Taffs WellThe Pentyrch and Taffs Well wards
Ton-tegThe Ton-teg and Treforest wards
Tonyrefail EastThe Tonyrefail East ward
Tonyrefail WestThe Gilfach Goch and Tonyrefail West wards
TrallwngThe Cilfynydd, Glyncoch and Trallwng wards
Tyn-y-nantThe Beddau and Tyn-y-nant wards

Back to top


Print Options


Legislation is available in different versions:

Latest Available (revised):The latest available updated version of the legislation incorporating changes made by subsequent legislation and applied by our editorial team. Changes we have not yet applied to the text, can be found in the ‘Changes to Legislation’ area.

Original (As Enacted or Made):The original version of the legislation as it stood when it was enacted or made. No changes have been applied to the text.


Opening Options

Different options to open legislation in order to view more content on screen at once


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources