1988 No. 366

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The County of Mid Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988

Made - - - 2nd March 1988

Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 22nd July 1987 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the County of Mid Glamorgan:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the County of Mid Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988.

2. This Order shall come into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1989 (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(b)) except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force on 10th October 1988.

3.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Mid Glamorgan shall be abolished and that County shall be divided into seventy-four electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each electoral division shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division constituted by this Order shall be one.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the County of Mid Glamorgan shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of county councillors in 1989 and every fourth year thereafter.

Home Office

2nd March 1988

Douglas Hurd One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State 1. Name of new electoral division

2. Area of new electoral division

Aberaman North Aberaman South Abercynon Aberdare East Aberdare West Cwmbach Hirwaun Mountain Ash Penrhiwceiber Ynysybwl

In the Borough of Cynon Valley

The Aberaman North ward The Aberaman South ward The Abercynon ward The Aberdare East ward The Aberdare West and Llwydcoed wards The Cwmbach ward The Hirwaun, Pen-y-waun and Rhigos wards The Mountain Ash East and Mountain Ash West wards The Penrhiwceiber ward The Ynysybwl ward

In the Borough of Merthyr Tydfil

Cyfarthfa Dowlais Gurnos Merthyr Vale Park Penydarren Plymouth Town Treharris

Bettws Brackla Caerau Cornelly Cwm Garw Cwm Ogwr Laleston Litchard Maesteg East Maesteg West Newcastle Newcastle Higher Pencoed Porthcawl East Porthcawl West Pyle St. Bride's Major St. Bride's Minor

Cymmer Ferndale Pentre Pen-y-graig Porth Tonypandy Trealaw Treherbert Treorchy Tylorstown Ystrad

1

The Cyfarthfa ward The Dowlais ward The Gurnos ward The Merthyr Vale ward The Park and Vaynor wards The Penydarren ward The Plymouth ward The Town ward The Bedlinog and Treharris wards

In the Borough of Ogwr

The Bettws and Ynysawdre wards The Brackla ward The Caerau and Nantyffyllon wards The Cornelly ward The Blaengarw, Llangeinor and Pontycymmer wards The Blackmill, Nant-y-moel and Ogmore Vale wards The Laleston ward The Coity Higher and Morfa wards The Maesteg East ward The Maesteg West ward The Newcastle and Oldcastle wards The Llangynwyd and Newcastle Higher wards The Pencoed ward The Porthcawl East ward The Porthcawl West ward The Cefn Cribwr and Pyle wards The Covchurch Lower and St. Bride's Major wards The St. Bride's Minor ward

In the Borough of Rhondda

The Cymmer ward The Ferndale and Maerdy wards The Pentre ward The Pen-y-graig ward The Porth and Ynyshir wards The Cwm Clydach and Tonypandy wards The Llwyn-y-pia and Trealaw wards The Treherbert ward The Treorchy ward The Tylorstown ward The Ystrad ward

1. Name of new electoral division

In the District of Rhymney Valley	
Aber Valley	The Aber Valley ward
Bargoed	The Bargoed and Gilfach wards
Bedwas	The Maesycwmmer ward, the Bedwas ward of the Community of Bedwas and Machen and the Parcyfelin ward of the Community of Caerphilly
Bedwelty	The Aberbargoed and New Tredegar wards
Cascade	The Cascade, Cefn Hengoed and Tir-y-berth wards of the Community of Gelligaer
Darren Valley	The Abertysswg, Darren Valley, Pontlottyn and Tir-Phil wards
Llanbradach	The Llanbradach ward and the Energlyn ward of the Community of Penyrheol
Machen	The Machen ward and the Trethomas ward of the Community of Bedwas and Machen
Nelson	The Nelson ward and the Greenhill ward of the Community of Gelligaer
Penyrheol	The Penyrheol and Trecenydd wards of the Community of Penyrheol
Rhymney	The Moriah and Twyn Carno wards
St. James	The St. James ward and the Tonyfelin ward of the Community of Caerphilly
St. Martins	The St. Martins ward and the Bryncenydd ward of the Community of Caerphilly
Ystrad Mynach	The Ystrad Mynach ward and the Hengoed ward of the Community of Gelligaer
In the Borough of Taff-Ely	
Llanharan	The Brynna, Llanharan and Llanharry wards
Llantrisant Town	The Llantrisant Town and Talbot Green wards
Llantwit Fardre	The Church Village and Llantwit Fardre wards
Pont-y-Clun	The Creigiau and Pont-y-Clun wards
Rhondda	The Graig, Pontypridd Town and Rhondda wards
Rhydfelen	The Hawthorn, Ilan, Rhydfelen Central and Rhydfelen Lower wards
Taffs Well	The Pentyrch and Taffs Well wards
Ton-teg	The Ton-teg and Treforest wards
Tonyrefail East	The Tonyrefail East ward
Tonyrefail West	The Gilfach Goch and Tonyrefail West wards
Trallwng	The Cilfynydd, Glyncoch and Trallwng wards
Tyn-y-nant	The Beddau and Tyn-y-nant wards

.