STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1988 No. 366

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The County of Mid Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988

Made - - - - 2nd March 1988

Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972((1)), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 22nd July 1987 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the County of Mid Glamorgan:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the County of Mid Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1988.
- 2. This Order shall come into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1989 (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983((2))) except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force on 10th October 1988.
- **3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Mid Glamorgan shall be abolished and that County shall be divided into seventy-four electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each electoral division shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division constituted by this Order shall be one.
- **4.** The ordinary elections of all councillors for the County of Mid Glamorgan shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of county councillors in 1989 and every fourth year thereafter.

^{(1) 1972} c. 70.

^{(2) 1983} c. 2.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Home Office

Douglas Hurd
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of

2nd March 1988

SCHEDULE Article 3(1)

1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
In the Borough of Cynon Valley	
Aberaman North	The Aberaman North ward
Aberaman South	The Aberaman South ward
Abercynon	The Abercynon ward
Aberdare East	The Aberdare East ward
Aberdare West	The Aberdare West and Llwydcoed wards
Cwmbach	The Cwmbach ward
Hirwaun	The Hirwaun, Pen-y-waun and Rhigos wards
Mountain Ash	The Mountain Ash East and Mountain Ash West wards
Penrhiwceiber	The Penrhiwceiber ward
Ynysybwl	The Ynysybwl ward
In the Borough of Merthyr Tydfil	
Cyfarthfa	The Cyfarthfa ward
Dowlais	The Dowlais ward
Gurnos	The Gurnos ward
Merthyr Vale	The Merthyr Vale ward
Park	The Park and Vaynor wards
Penydarren	The Penydarren ward
Plymouth	The Plymouth ward
Town	The Town ward
Treharris	The Bedlinog and Treharris wards
In the Borough of Ogwr	
BettwsThe Bettws and Ynysawdre wards	
Brackla	The Brackla ward
Caerau	The Caerau and Nantyffyllon wards
Cornelly	The Cornelly ward
Cwm Garw	The Blaengarw, Llangeinor and Pontycymmer wards
Cwm Ogwr	The Blackmill, Nant-y-moel and Ogmore Vale wards
Laleston	The Laleston ward
Litchard	
Coity Higher and Morfa wards	
Maesteg East	The Maesteg East ward

1. Name of new electoral division	2. Area of new electoral division
Maesteg West	The Maesteg West ward
Newcastle	The Newcastle and Oldcastle wards
Newcastle Higher	The Llangynwyd and Newcastle Higher wards
Pencoed	The Pencoed ward
Porthcawl East	The Porthcawl East ward
Porthcawl WestThe Porthcawl West ward	
Pyle	The Cefn Cribwr and Pyle wards
St. Bride's Major	The Coychurch Lower and St. Bride's Major wards
St. Bride's Minor	The St. Bride's Minor ward
In the Borough of Rhondda	
Cymmer	The Cymmer ward
Ferndale	The Ferndale and Maerdy wards
Pentre	The Pentre ward
Pen-y-graig	The Pen-y-graig ward
Porth	The Porth and Ynyshir wards
Tonypandy	The Cwm Clydach and Tonypandy wards
Trealaw	The Llwyn-y-pia and Trealaw wards
Treherbert	The Treherbert ward
Treorchy	The Treorchy ward
Tylorstown	The Tylorstown ward
Ystrad	The Ystrad ward
In the District of Rhymney Valley	
Aber Valley	The Aber Valley ward
Bargoed	The Bargoed and Gilfach wards
Bedwas	The Maesycwmmer ward, the Bedwas ward of the Community of Bedwas and Machen and the Parcyfelin ward of the Community of Caerphilly
Bedwelty	The Aberbargoed and New Tredegar wards
Cascade	The Cascade, Cefn Hengoed and Tir-y-berth wards of the Community of Gelligaer
Darren Valley	The Abertysswg, Darren Valley, Pontlottyn and Tir-Phil wards
Llanbradach	The Llanbradach ward and the Energlyn ward of the Community of Penyrheol
Machen	The Machen ward and the Trethomas ward of the Community of Bedwas and Machen

Nelson ward and the Greenhill ward of the munity of Gelligaer
Penyrheol and Trecenydd wards of the nmunity of Penyrheol
Moriah and Twyn Carno wards
St. James ward and the Tonyfelin ward of Community of Caerphilly
St. Martins ward and the Bryncenydd ward ne Community of Caerphilly
Ystrad Mynach ward and the Hengoed d of the Community of Gelligaer
Brynna, Llanharan and Llanharry wards
Llantrisant Town and Talbot Green wards
Church Village and Llantwit Fardre wards
Creigiau and Pont-y-Clun wards
Hawthorn, Ilan, Rhydfelen Central and dfelen Lower wards
Pentyrch and Taffs Well wards
Ton-teg and Treforest wards
Tonyrefail East ward
Gilfach Goch and Tonyrefail West wards
Cilfynydd, Glyncoch and Trallwng wards
Beddau and Tyn-y-nant wards
בר בר בר