Search Legislation

Care of Churches and Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction Measure 1991 (No. 1)


This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

  1. Introductory Text

  2. Part I General Principle

    1. 1.Duty to have regard to church’s purpose

  3. Part III Care, Inspection and Accountability

    1. 2.Diocesan advisory committees

    2. 3.Amendment of Inspection of Churches Measure 1955

    3. 4.Duties of churchwardens as to recording of information about churches

    4. 5.Duties of churchwardens as to fabric etc. of churches

    5. 6.Provisions relating to trees in churchyards

    6. 7.Payment of expenses in connection with ruins

  4. Part III Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction

    1. 8.Amendment of Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction Measure 1963

    2. 9.Amendment of Ecclesiastical Judges and Legal Officers Measure 1976

    3. 10.Amendment of Ecclesiastical Fees Measure 1986

    4. 11.General provisions as to faculty jurisdiction

    5. 12.Grant of faculties, etc

    6. 13.Orders against persons responsible for defaults

    7. 14.Delegation to archdeacons of power to grant faculties

    8. 15.Consultation with diocesan advisory committees

    9. 16.Parties

    10. 17.Faculties for demolition of churches

    11. 18.Emergency demolition of churches

    12. 19.Meaning of “church”

  5. Part IVV Miscellaneous and General

    1. 20.Discussion and reporting of defaults

    2. 21.Deposit of articles in places of safety

    3. 22.Power of bishop to remove legal effects of consecration

    4. 23.Application of section 22 in relation to Crown land

    5. 24.Repeal of s.4 of Parish Notices Act 1837

    6. 25.Rule Committee

    7. 26.Functions of Rule Committee

    8. 27.Supplementary provisions as to rules

    9. 28.General provisions as to orders by bishops

    10. 29.Diocesan registrars' fees

    11. 30.Service of notices and orders

    12. 31.Interpretation

    13. 32.Amendments and repeals

    14. 33.Citation, commencement and extent

    1. Schedule 1

      Provisions to be included in Diocesan Advisory Committee Constitutions.

    2. Schedule 2

      Functions of Diocesan Advisory Committee.

    3. Schedule 3

      Amendment of Inspection of Churches Measure 1955.

    4. Schedule 4

      Amendment of Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction Measure 1963.

    5. Schedule 5

      Amendment of Ecclesiastical Judges and Legal Officers Measure 1976.

    6. Schedule 6

      Amendment of Ecclesiastical Fees Measure 1986.

    7. Schedule 7

      Minor and Consequential Amendments.

    8. Schedule 8

      Act and Measures Repealed.

Back to top


Print Options


Legislation is available in different versions:

Latest Available (revised):The latest available updated version of the legislation incorporating changes made by subsequent legislation and applied by our editorial team. Changes we have not yet applied to the text, can be found in the ‘Changes to Legislation’ area.

Original (As Enacted or Made):The original version of the legislation as it stood when it was enacted or made. No changes have been applied to the text.


Opening Options

Different options to open legislation in order to view more content on screen at once


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources