Search Legislation

Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010

Part 1: The Commissioners

63.Paragraph 1 provides for a minimum of seven members of the Civil Service Commission, one as the First Civil Service Commissioner (“the First Commissioner”) and the others Civil Service Commissioners (“the Commissioners”).

64.Paragraphs 2 and 3 provide for the appointment of the First Commissioner and Commissioners, and the terms of appointment. Provision is also made for the appointment of ex-officio Commissioners. This might include for example, the appointment of the Public Appointments Commissioner as a Commissioner.

65.Paragraph 4 makes provision for the terms of appointment of a Commissioner to include provision for remuneration, allowances and pensions.

66.Paragraph 5 sets out the circumstances in which the First Commissioner or Commissioner may resign or be removed from office by Her Majesty on the recommendation of the Minister for the Civil Service.

67.Paragraph 6 makes provision for compensation for the loss of the office of First Commissioner or Commissioner.

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources