Search Legislation

The Lord-Lieutenants (Scotland) Order 1996

 Help about what version

What Version

  • Latest available (Revised)
  • Original (As made)

More Resources


This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Statutory Instruments

1996 No. 731 (S.83)


The Lord-Lieutenants (Scotland) Order 1996


13th March 1996

Coming into force

1st April 1996

At the Court of Buckingham Palace, the 13th day of March 1996


The Queen’s Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, in exercise of the powers conferred upon Her by section 131(1A) of the Reserve Forces Act 1980(1) and of all other powers enabling Her in that behalf, is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

1.  This Order may be cited as the Lord-Lieutenants (Scotland) Order 1996 and shall come into force on 1st April 1996.

2.  In this Order—

(a)“new local government area” means a local government area created by section 1 of the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994(2);

(b)any reference to a county or burgh shall be construed as a reference to that county or, as the case may be, burgh, as it existed immediately before the passing of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973(3);

(c)any reference to a district, islands area, region, electoral division (except the electoral division of Nigg) or district ward shall be construed as a reference to that district, islands area, region, electoral division or, as the case may be, district ward as it exists immediately before the making of this Order;

(d)any reference to the electoral division of Nigg shall be construed as a reference to that electoral division as it existed immediately before the passing of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973;

(e)any reference in column 2 of Schedule 2 to an area which is named in column 1 of Schedule 1 shall be construed in accordance with column 2 of Schedule 1 and any reference to the City of Glasgow shall be construed as a reference to the new local government area of the City of Glasgow,

and any reference in this Order to a numbered Schedule is to a Schedule bearing that number in this Order.

3.  For the purposes of the provisions of the Reserve Forces Act 1980 relating to lieutenancies:—

(a)Scotland is hereby divided into the areas named in column 1 of Schedule 1 which shall comprise the areas described in column 2 of that Schedule; and

(b)any deputy lieutenant named in column 1 of Schedule 2 holding office immediately before the date on which this Order is made shall (without prejudice to any power of removal or directing removal from any office) continue to hold office on and after that date as deputy lieutenant of the area or city specified in column 2 of that Schedule.

N.H. Nicholls

Clerk of the Privy Council

Article 3a


AberdeenshireThe county of Aberdeen except those parts of that county which form part of the new local government area of Aberdeen City
AngusThe new local government area of Angus
Argyll and ButeThe district of Argyll and Bute
Ayrshire and ArranThe district of Kilmarnock and Loudoun, the district of Cumnock and Doon Valley, the district of Cunninghame and the district of Kyle and Carrick
BanffshireThe county of Banff
BerwickshireThe district of Berwickshire
CaithnessThe district of Caithness
ClackmannanThe district of Clackmannan
DumfriesThe district of Nithsdale and the district of Annandale and Eskdale
DunbartonshireThe district of Dumbarton, the district of Clydebank, the district of Bearsden and Milngavie, the district of Strathkelvin, the district of Cumbernauld and Kilsyth and the South Lenzie/Waterside district ward in electoral division 46 (Chryston) of Strathclyde region
East LothianThe district of East Lothian
FifeFife region
InvernessThe district of Lochaber, the district of Inverness and the district of Badenoch and Strathspey
KincardineshireThe county of Kincardine except the electoral division of Nigg
LanarkshireThe district of Monklands, the district of Motherwell, the district of Hamilton, the district of East Kilbride, the district of Clydesdale and the following electoral divisions of Strathclyde region, namely electoral division 46 (Chryston) (except South Lenzie/Waterside district ward), electoral division 37 (Rutherglen/Fernhill), electoral division 38 (Cambuslang/Halfway) and, in electoral division 35 (Kingspark/Toryglen), polling districts RU03, RU04, RU09 and RU18.
MidlothianThe district of Midlothian
MorayThe county of Moray except those parts of that county which, on the passing of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, formed part of Highland Region
NairnThe district of Nairn
OrkneyOrkney Islands area
Perth and KinrossThe new local government area of Perth and Kinross
RenfrewshireThe district of Eastwood, the district of Renfrew and the district of Inverclyde
Ross and CromartyThe district of Ross and Cromarty and the district of Skye and Lochalsh
Roxburgh, Ettrick and LauderdaleThe district of Roxburgh and the district of Ettrick and Lauderdale
ShetlandShetland Islands area
Stirling and FalkirkThe district of Stirling and the district of Falkirk
SutherlandThe district of Sutherland
The Stewartry of KirkcudbrightThe district of Stewartry
TweeddaleThe district of Tweeddale
West LothianThe district of West Lothian
Western IslesWestern Isles Islands area
WigtownThe district of Wigtown

Article 3(b)


Lady Caroline Douglas HomeBerwickshire
The Lord GlenarthurAberdeenshire
Mr William Leggate Smith MC TD JPCity of Glasgow
Colonel Adam Angus FairrieInverness
Mr Alan Devereux CBERenfrewshire
Dr Helen M Laird OBERenfrewshire
Colonel Charles H K Corsar of Cairniehill LVO OBE TDMidlothian
The Earl of RoseberyMidlothian
Mr David J Bowes-LyonMidlothian
Mr Colin F PetersMidlothian
Group Captain George L Denholm DFCWest Lothian
Mr James S FindlayWest Lothian
Mrs Robert Schaw MillerWest Lothian

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order divides Scotland up into areas for the purposes of the provisions of the Reserve Forces Act 1980 relating to lieutenancies. Article 3(a) and Schedule 1 create and name each of the lieutenancies in Scotland except those lieutenancies which are made up of the four city areas of Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh and Glasgow. Those city areas are in any event lieutenancies by virtue of section 131(2) of the said Act of 1980. Article 3(b) and Schedule 2 make provision for certain deputy lieutenants to hold office in an area or city other than that in which they reside.


1980 c. 9; section 131 was amended by paragraph 116(2) of Schedule 13 to the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c. 39).

Back to top


Print Options


Legislation is available in different versions:

Latest Available (revised):The latest available updated version of the legislation incorporating changes made by subsequent legislation and applied by our editorial team. Changes we have not yet applied to the text, can be found in the ‘Changes to Legislation’ area.

Original (As Enacted or Made): The original version of the legislation as it stood when it was enacted or made. No changes have been applied to the text.


Opening Options

Different options to open legislation in order to view more content on screen at once


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources