Search Legislation

Welfare Reform Act (Northern Ireland) 2010


28.The Act contains 37 sections and 4 Schedules.

  • Part 1- Social security

  • “Work for your benefit” schemes etc.

  • Revised system of working-age benefits

  • Abolition of income support

  • Work-related activity for claimants of employment and support allowance

  • Contributory jobseeker’s allowance and employment and support allowance

  • Disability living allowance

  • Abolition of adult dependency increases

  • Community care grants

  • Payments on account

  • Benefit sanctions for offenders

  • Pilot schemes

  • Miscellaneous

  • Part 2 - Child maintenance

  • Part 3 - Miscellaneous and supplementary

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the Northern Ireland Assembly department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes accompany all Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources