STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No. 20

The Herefordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Herefordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Herefordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Herefordshire and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Herefordshire are abolished.

(2) The district of Herefordshire is divided into 53 district wards, each listed by name in Schedule 1.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) One councillor is to be elected for each district ward.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Parish wards and number of councillors

- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the following parishes are abolished—
 - (a) Hereford;
 - (b) Ledbury;
 - (c) Leominster;
 - (d) Ross-on-Wye;

^{(1) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

(e) Ross Rural.

(2) The parish of Bromyard and Winslow is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Hereford is divided into 16 parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Ledbury is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Leominster is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.

(6) The parish of Ross-on-Wye is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fifth table in Schedule 2.

(7) The parish of Ross Rural is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the sixth table in Schedule 2.

(8) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(9) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of each table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 8th day of January 2014



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

8th January 2014