#### WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2021 No. 1112 (W. 267)

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, WALES

The County of the Isle of Anglesey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021

Made - - - 4 October 2021 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

The Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales(1) has, in accordance with section 36(5) of the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013(2) ("the 2013 Act"), submitted to the Welsh Ministers a Report dated November 2020 containing its recommendations for change and the details of its review of the electoral arrangements for the County of the Isle of Anglesey.

The Welsh Ministers have, after consideration of the matters referred to and set out in section 37(2) (a) and (c) of the 2013 Act, decided to give effect to those recommendations without modification.

In accordance with section 37(3) of the 2013 Act, more than 6 weeks have elapsed since those recommendations were submitted to the Welsh Ministers.

The Welsh Ministers make the following Order in exercise of their powers conferred by section 37(1) of the 2013 Act.

#### Title, commencement and interpretation

- **1.**—(1) The title of this Order is the County of the Isle of Anglesey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021.
- (2) For any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(3), this Order comes into force on the second day after the day on which it is made.
- (3) For all other purposes, this Order comes into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022(4).

<sup>(1)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was established by section 53 of, and Schedule 8 to, the Local Government Act 1972 (c. 70) ("the 1972 Act"). Section 53 and Schedule 8 were repealed by section 73(2) of, and Schedule 2 to, the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013 (anaw 4) ("the 2013 Act"). The 2013 Act re-names the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales as the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales (see section 2).
(2) 2013 anaw 4.

<sup>(3)</sup> S.I. 1976/246. Section 74(3) of the 2013 Act provides that these Regulations continue to have effect in relation to orders made under Part 3 of the 2013 Act, as if those orders were made under Part 4 of the 1972 Act.

<sup>(4)</sup> The Local Authorities (Change to the Years of Ordinary Elections) (Wales) Order 2019 (S.I. 2019/1269 (W. 220)) amends section 26(1) of the 1972 Act to provide that the year in which the ordinary elections of councillors of local authorities shall take place is 2022 instead of 2021.

### (4) In this Order—

"electoral ward" ("ward etholiadol") means any area for which members are elected to the Isle of Anglesey County Council;

words and expressions used in this Order have the same meaning as they have in Part 3 of the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013, except so far as a contrary intention appears.

### Electoral arrangements for the County of the Isle of Anglesey

- **2.**—(1) The electoral wards of the County of the Isle of Anglesey, as they exist immediately before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022, are abolished.
- (2) The County of the Isle of Anglesey is divided into 14 electoral wards each bearing the English language name listed in column 1 and the Welsh language name listed in column 2 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.
- (3) Each electoral ward comprises the areas specified in relation to that electoral ward in column 3 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.
- (4) The number of members of the council to be elected for each electoral ward is the number specified in column 4 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.
- (5) The provisions in this Order take precedence over any conflicting provision in any previous statutory instrument made under section 58(2) of the Local Government Act 1972(5).

Rebecca Evans
Minister for Finance and Local Government, one
of the Welsh Ministers

4 October 2021

<sup>(5) 1972</sup> c. 70; section 58 of the 1972 Act was repealed by section 73(2) of, and Schedule 2 to, the 2013 Act, subject to savings provisions specified in section 74 of the 2013 Act.

## SCHEDULE

Article 2

# NAMES AND AREAS OF ELECTORAL WARDS AND NUMBER OF MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

## **Table**

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)	Column (4)
English language name of electoral ward	Welsh language name of electoral ward	Area of electoral ward	Number of members of the council
Aethwy	Aethwy	The communities of Llanfair Pwllgwyngyll, Menai Bridge and Penmynydd	3
Bodowyr	Bodowyr	The communities of Llanddaniel Fab, Llanfihangel Ysgeifiog and Llanidan	2
Bro Aberffraw	Bro Aberffraw	The communities of Aberffraw, Bodorgan and Rhosyr	2
Bro'r Llynnoedd	Bro'r Llynnoedd	The communities of Bodedern, Llanfair- yn-Neubwll and Valley	2
Canolbarth Môn	Canolbarth Môn	The community of Bodffordd, the Llanddyfnan, Llangwyllog and Tregaean wards of the community of Llanddyfnan, and the Cyngar and Tudur wards of the community of Llangefni	3
Cefni	Cefni	The community of Llangristiolus and the Cefni ward of the community of Llangefni	2
Crigyll	Crigyll	The communities of Bryngwran, Llanfaelog and Trewalchmai	2

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)	Column (4)
English language name of electoral ward	Welsh language name of electoral ward	Area of electoral ward	Number of members of the council
Lligwy	Lligwy	The communities of Llaneugrad, Llanfair Mathafarn Eithaf, Moelfre, and Pentraeth and the Llanfihangel Tre'r Beirdd ward of the community of Llanddyfnan	3
Parc a'r Mynydd	Parc a'r Mynydd	The Parc a'r Mynydd and Porthyfelin wards of the community of Holyhead	2
Seiriol	Seiriol	The communities of Beaumaris, Cwm Cadnant, Llanddona and Llangoed	3
Talybolion	Talybolion	The communities of Cylch-y-garn, Llannerch-y-Medd, Llanfachraeth, Llanfaethlu, Mechell and Tref Alaw	3
Tref Cybi	Tref Cybi	The Town, London Road and Morawelon wards of the community of Holyhead	2
Twrcelyn	Twrcelyn	The communities of Amlwch, Llanbadrig, Llaneilian and Rhosybol	3
Ynys Gybi	Ynys Gybi	The communities of Trearddur and Rhoscolyn and the Kingsland and Maeshyfryd wards of the community of Holyhead	3

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order implements the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales ("the Commission"), which reported in November 2020 on its review of the electoral arrangements for the County of the Isle of Anglesey. The Commission's report proposed an increase in the number of electoral wards from 11 to 14, and an increase in the number of councillors from 30 to 35.

This Order implements the Commission's recommendations without modification.

Article 2 of this Order abolishes the existing electoral arrangements for the County of the Isle of Anglesey and introduces the Schedule, which sets out the new electoral arrangements for the County of the Isle of Anglesey.

The Welsh Ministers' Code of Practice on the carrying out of Regulatory Impact Assessments was considered in relation to this Order. As a result, it was not considered necessary to carry out a regulatory impact assessment as to the likely costs and benefits of complying with this Order.