#### WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2020 No. 574

# The Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Wales) Regulations 2020

#### PART 1

### General

### Title and coming into force

- 1.—(1) The title of these Regulations is the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Wales) Regulations 2020.
  - (2) These Regulations come into force at 12.01 a.m. on 8 June 2020.

#### General interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In these Regulations
  - "child" ("plentyn") means a person under 18 years of age and any reference to an "adult" ("oedolyn") is to be interpreted accordingly;
  - "coronavirus" ("coronafeirws") means severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-Cov-2);
  - "Immigration Acts" ("y Deddfau Mewnfudo") has the meaning given by section 61 of the UK Borders Act 2007(1);
  - "immigration officer" ("swyddog mewnfudo") means a person appointed by the Secretary of State as an immigration officer under paragraph 1 of Schedule 2 to the Immigration Act 1971(2);
  - "passenger information" ("gwybodaeth am deithiwr") means the information specified in Schedule 1;
  - "premises" ("mangre") includes any garden, yard, passage, stair, garage, outhouse, or other appurtenance of such premises.
- (2) For the purpose of these Regulations, a person has responsibility for a child if—
  - (a) the person has custody or charge of the child, or
  - (b) the person has parental responsibility for the child (within the meaning of the Children Act 1989)(3).
- (3) In these Regulations—

<sup>(1) 2007</sup> c. 30. Section 61 was amended by section 73(5) of the Immigration Act 2014 (c. 22) and section 92(5) of the Immigration

<sup>(2) 1971</sup> c. 77. Paragraph 1 was amended by paragraph 3 of Schedule 3 to the Health Protection Agency Act 2004 (c. 17), and by S.I. 1993/1813.

<sup>(3) 1989</sup> c. 41.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made).

```
"aircraft" ("awyren")(4);
"the common travel area" ("yr ardal deithio gyffredin")(5);
"port" ("porthladd")(6);
"ship" ("llong")(7),
```

have the same meaning as they have in the Immigration Act 1971.

<sup>(4)</sup> See section 33(1).

<sup>(5)</sup> See section 1(3). It provides that the United Kingdom, the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man, and the Republic of Ireland are collectively referred to in that Act as "the common travel area".

<sup>(</sup>**6**) See section 33(1).

<sup>(7)</sup> See section 33(1).