EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, made in accordance with section 58(2) of the Local Government Act 1972 gives effect to proposals by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales. The effect of those proposals is that:

- (i) areas of the community of Rhuddlan (shown hatched in black on boundary maps A and B referred to in Article 2 of the Order) will become part of the community of Rhyl;
- (ii) an area of the community of Dyserth in the vicinity of the properties known as "Ffordd Pantycelyn", "Pydew Farm", "Pydew Bungalow", "Little Pydew Farm", "Plas Newydd Farm", "Bungalow" and "52 Ffordd Ffynnon" (shown cross hatched in black on boundary map B referred to in Article 2 of the Order) will become part of the community of Prestatyn; and
- (iii) an area of the community of Rhuddlan in the vicinity of the property known as "Four Winds Farm" (shown shaded black on boundary map B referred to in Article 2 of the Order) will become part of the community of Prestatyn.

Prints of the boundary map are deposited and may be inspected during normal office hours at the offices of Denbighshire County Council at Council Offices, Ruthin and at the offices of the National Assembly for Wales at Cathays Park, Cardiff (Local Government Modernisation Division).

Article 4 of this Order makes provision so that the South and the South East wards of the community of Rhyl, and the South West ward of the community of Prestatyn, which are referred to in the County of Denbighshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998 ("the 1998 Order"), are extended so that their boundaries correspond with the community boundaries as altered by this Order.

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976 (as amended) ("the 1976 Regulations") referred to in Article 2 of this Order contain incidental, consequential, transitional and supplementary provisions about the effect and implementation of orders such as this.

By virtue of Regulation 40 of the 1976 Regulations, references in the 1998 Order to the communities of Rhuddlan and Dyserth are to be construed as a reference to those communities as altered by this Order.