EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was required by section 64(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as substituted by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994) to review the electoral arrangements as soon as practicable after the first elections to unitary authorities in May 1995.

This Order gives effect to the proposals made in the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales' report of December 1999 for the County Borough of Newport.

Although the Order abolishes all existing electoral divisions within the County Borough and replaces them with new electoral divisions, in practice the majority of them will remain the same.

The existing arrangements remain for the electoral divisions of Allt-yr-yn, Alway, Beechwood, Bettws, Caerleon, Gaer, Graig, Llanwern, Malpas, Pillgwenlly, Ringland, Rogerstone, Shaftesbury, St. Julians, Stow Hill, Tredegar Park, Victoria.

The division of **Langstone** which comprises of the communities of **Langstone**, **Llanvaches** and **Penhow** will be represented by two councillors.

The electoral division of **Liswerry** is to comprises of the communities of **Liswerry** and **Nash** and be is represented by four councillors. The electoral division of Llan-wern will not therefore include the community of Nash.

The Marshfield division, which comprises of the communities of Coedkernew, Marshfield, Michaelstone-y-Fedw and Wentlooge, is to be represented by two councillors.