2023 No. 203

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Slough (Electoral Changes) Order 2023

Made - - - 22nd February 2023

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) *and* (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) ("the Commission") published a report dated November 2022(c) stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the borough of Slough. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation, commencement, extent and application

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Slough (Electoral Changes) Order 2023.

(2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.

(3) Articles 3 comes into force—

(a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors(**d**), on the day after the day on which this Order is made;

⁽a) 2009 c. 20.

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽c) The report is available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/berkshire/slough.

⁽d) Slough Borough Council at a meeting on 18th January 2022 resolved to move to four-yearly whole council elections, where all councillors will be elected collectively for a period of four years commencing with local elections to be held in 2023. The minutes of the meeting are accessible at https://democracy.slough.gov.uk/mgAi.aspx?ID=44488. A hard copy of those minutes is available from Slough Borough Council, Observatory House, 25 Windsor Road, Slough SL1 2EL.

- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(a) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Slough (Electoral Changes) Order 2023", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(\mathbf{b}).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the borough of Slough and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Slough are abolished.

- (2) The borough of Slough is divided into the 21 wards listed in the Schedule.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is two.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



22nd February 2023

Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

⁽a) The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽b) Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/berkshire/slough.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Names of wards of the borough of Slough

1. Baylis & Salt Hill

- 2. Britwell
- 3. Chalvey
- 4. Cippenham Green
- 5. Cippenham Manor
- **6.** Cippenham Village
- 7. Colnbrook & Poyle
- 8. Elliman
- 9. Farnham
- **10.** Haymill
- 11. Herschel Park
- 12. Langley Foxborough
- 13. Langley Marish
- 14. Langley Meads
- 15. Langley St Mary's
- 16. Manor Park & Stoke
- 17. Northborough & Lynch Hill Valley
- 18. Slough Central
- **19.** Upton
- **20.** Upton Lea
- 21. Wexham Court

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the borough of Slough following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the borough of Slough and replaces them with 21 new ones listed in the Schedule for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2023. It also establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/berkshire/slough.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private, public or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Jeff James, Controller of His Majesty's Stationery Office and King's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

ISBN 978-0-34-824516-5

£4.90

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2023/203

[©] Crown copyright 2023