### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2023 No. 1365

# **EDUCATION, ENGLAND**

# The Writtle University College Higher Education Corporation (Dissolution) Order 2023

Made - - - - 13th December 2023

Laid before Parliament 15th December 2023

Coming into force - - 29th February 2024

The Secretary of State, on request given by notice by the higher education corporation known as Writtle University College(1), makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 127A of the Education Reform Act 1988(2).

In accordance with section 127A(2) of that Act the higher education corporation known as Anglia Ruskin University(3), being a body corporate established for purposes which include the provision of educational facilities or services within the meaning of section 127A(1)(b)(ii) of that Act, has consented to the transfer of the property, rights and liabilities of the higher education corporation known as Writtle University College.

In accordance with section 127A(5) of that Act the Secretary of State has consulted the Office for Students.

### Citation, commencement and extent

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Writtle University College Higher Education Corporation (Dissolution) Order 2023.
  - (2) This Order comes into force on 29th February 2024.
  - (3) This Order extends to England and Wales.

<sup>(1)</sup> Established as a higher education corporation known as Writtle Agricultural College under section 122A of the Education Reform Act 1988 (c. 40) by S.I. 1994/2019. Section 122A was amended by the Higher Education and Research Act 2017 (c. 29), Schedule 8, paragraph 4. The institution changed its name to Writtle University College by order of the Privy Council dated 5th May 2016.

<sup>(2) 1988</sup> c. 40. Section 127A was inserted by the Higher Education and Research Act 2017, Schedule 8, paragraph 16.

<sup>(3)</sup> Established as a higher education corporation known as the Essex Institute of Higher Education under section 121 of the Education Reform Act 1988 by S.I. 1988/1799. Section 121 was amended by S.I. 2010/1158 and the Statute Law (Repeals) Act 2004 (c. 14), Schedule 1(7), paragraph 1. By S.I. 1989/410 the higher education corporation known as Cambridgeshire College of Arts and Technology was dissolved and its property, rights and liabilities were transferred to the Essex Institute of Higher Education. This institution subsequently changed its name to Anglia Higher Education College, Anglia Polytechnic University and then Anglia Ruskin University.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## **Dissolution of Writtle University College**

**2.** The higher education corporation known as Writtle University College shall be dissolved at 5.00pm on 29th February 2024 and all of its property, rights and liabilities shall be transferred to the higher education corporation known as Anglia Ruskin University.

Robert Halfon Minister of State Department for Education

13th December 2023

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order dissolves the higher education corporation known as Writtle University College and provides for all property, rights and liabilities to which it was entitled or subject immediately prior to its dissolution to be transferred to the higher education corporation known as Anglia Ruskin University.

An impact assessment has not been prepared for this instrument because no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sector is foreseen.