EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order provides for the establishment, on 1st April 2023, of a single tier of local government in Cumbria. Two new councils are created; the Cumberland Council, for the same area as the existing districts of Allerdale, Carlisle and Copeland, and the Westmorland and Furness Council, for the same area as the existing districts of Barrow-in-Furness, Eden and South Lakeland.

The County of Cumbria and the districts of Barrow-in-Furness, Eden, South Lakeland, Allerdale, Carlisle and Copeland are abolished as local government areas with effect from 1st April 2023. The county council and district councils in the county are wound up.

The new councils, to which elections are to be held in 2022, will operate as "shadow authorities" until 1st April 2023. Part 3 of the Order contains the arrangements for the shadow authorities, including their functions which are principally to prepare for the transition to a single tier of local government on 1st April 2023.

Part 4 of the Order deals with electoral matters. Elections for the new councils will take place on the ordinary day of elections in 2022, 2027 and every fourth year thereafter.

Part 5 of the Order deals with further transitional duties including duties on the county council and existing district councils, in particular to cooperate with each other and the shadow authorities and shadow executives and to create joint committees. Articles 28 and 29 make consequential amendments to the Lieutenancies Act 2007 (c. 23) and the Sheriffs Act 1887 (c. 55) to provide for the Cumberland Council and for the Westmorland and Furness Council to be regarded for the purposes of those Acts as the ceremonial county of Cumbria.

The Schedule sets out the electoral wards of Cumberland Council and Westmorland and Furness Council.

A full regulatory impact assessment has not been prepared as this instrument will have no impact on the costs of business and the voluntary sector. The impact on the public sector is a simplification to the system of local government in Cumbria.