STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2021 No. 1220

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The East Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2021

Made - - - Ist November 2021 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated March 2021(3) stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the borough of East Staffordshire. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the East Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2021.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(4) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The report is available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/staffordshire/east-staffordshire.

⁽⁴⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the East Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2021", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the borough of East Staffordshire and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of East Staffordshire are abolished.
- (2) The borough of East Staffordshire is divided into the 16 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Burton, Outwoods, Shobnall, Stapenhill, Uttoxeter and Winshill

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Burton, Outwoods, Shobnall, Stapenhill, Uttoxeter and Winshill are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Burton is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Outwoods is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Shobnall is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Stapenhill is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Uttoxeter is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Winshill is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (8) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (9) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

⁽⁵⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/staffordshire/east-staffordshire.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

1st November 2021

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3
Wards of the borough of East Staffordshire

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Anglesey	2
Bagots & Needwood	3
Blythe	1
Branston	3
Brizlincote	2
Burton & Eton	3
Crown	1
Dove	3
Heath	3
Horninglow & Outwoods	3
Shobnall	2
Stapenhill	2
Stramshall &Weaver	2
Stretton	3
Town	2
Winshill	2

SCHEDULE 2 Article 4

Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1
Wards of the parish of Burton

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
St Peter's	1
Town	8

Table 2
Wards of the parish of Outwoods

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Central	6	
North	1	
South	4	

Table 3

Wards of the parish of Shobnall

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Canal	10
Oaks Wood	1

Table 4

Wards of the parish of Stapenhill

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Ferry	1	
Stanton Road	1	
Village	9	

Table 5

Wards of the parish of Uttoxeter

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Heath	10
Town	6

Table 6
Wards of the parish of Winshill

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Village	10
Waterloo	1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the borough of East Staffordshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the borough of East Staffordshire and replaces them with 16 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2023. It also establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards which are consequential on the changes made by article 3. The changes to parish wards introduced by article 4 come into force for the purpose of parish elections in 2023.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/staffordshire/east-staffordshire.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.