STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2021 No. 106

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Cornwall (Electoral Changes) Order 2021

Made - - - 29th January 2021 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 92(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007(1), Cornwall Council ("the Council") made recommendations in a review to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) for the related alteration of the boundaries of electoral divisions within the Council's area.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations and makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 92(3) of that Act.

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Cornwall (Electoral Changes) Order 2021.

- (2) This article comes into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Article 2 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(3) in 2021.

Alteration of division boundaries

2. Each area that ceases to be part of the parish listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule and becomes part of the parish listed in the corresponding entry in the second column of that table, in consequence of the Cornwall (Reorganisation of Community Governance) No. 1 Order

 ²⁰⁰⁷ c. 28. Section 92 was amended by paragraph 32 of Schedule 4 to the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c. 20) ("the 2009 Act").

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the 2009 Act. The functions of the Electoral Commission under Chapter 3 of Part 4 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 ("the 2007 Act") were transferred under section 60 of the 2009 Act to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 1st April 2010.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

2020(4), ceases to be part of the division listed in the corresponding entry in the third column of that table and becomes part of the division listed in the corresponding entry in the fourth column of that table.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

29th January 2021

⁽⁴⁾ That Order was made on 8th December 2020, and amended by the Cornwall (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Amendment Order 2021 which was made on 19th January 2021, by Cornwall Council under powers including section 86 of the 2007 Act; such Orders are not required to be made by statutory instrument. A hard copy of those Orders is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of Cornwall Council, New County Hall, Treyew Road, Truro, TR1 3AY.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)
From parish	To parish	From division	To division
South	St Thomas the	Altarnun &	Launceston
Petherwin	Apostle	Stoke	North & North
		Climsland	Petherwin
Wendron	Helston	Crowan, Sithney &	Helston North
		Wendron	
Falmouth	Budock	Falmouth	Falmouth
		Boslowick	Trescobeas &
			Budock
Budock	Penryn	Falmouth	Penryn
		Trescobeas &	
		Budock	
Portreath	St Agnes	Illogan &	St Agnes
		Portreath	
Gwennap	Carharrack	Lanner,	Redruth
		Stithians &	Central,
		Gwennap	Carharrack &
			St Day
Gwennap	St Day	Lanner,	Redruth
		Stithians &	Central,
		Gwennap	Carharrack &
			St Day
Probus	Grampound	Probus & St	St Mewan &
	with Creed	Erme	Grampound
St Austell	St Austell Bay	St Austell	Mevagissey &
		Bethel &	St Austell Bay
		Holmbush	

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)
From parish	To parish	From division	To division
St Austell	Pentewan	St Austell	St Mewan &
	Valley	Central &	Grampound
		Gover	
Colan	Newquay	St Columb	Newquay
		Minor & Colan	Trenance
St Enoder	St Newlyn	St Dennis & St	St Newlyn
	East	Enoder	East, Cubert &
			Goonhavern
Ludgvan	Towednack	St Ives East,	St Ives West
		Lelant & Carbis	& Towednack
		Bay	
St Erth	Ludgvan	Long Rock,	St Ives East,
		Marazion & St	Lelant &
		Erth	Carbis Bay
Ludgvan	St. Erth	St Ives East,	Long Rock,
		Lelant & Carbis	Marazion & St
		Bay	Erth
St Mewan	St Austell	St Mewan &	St Austell
		Grampound	Central &
			Gover
Pentewan	St Austell	St Mewan &	St Austell
Valley		Grampound	Poltair &
			Mount Charles
Chacewater	St Agnes	Threemilestone	Perranporth
		& Chacewater	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations made by Cornwall Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England for related alterations of division boundaries.

The alterations are a consequence of changes to parish boundaries and warding arrangements under the Cornwall (Reorganisation of Community Governance) No. 1 Order 2020, as amended by the Cornwall (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Amendment Order 2021, which were made by Cornwall Council under powers including section 86 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c. 28). A hard copy of those Orders is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of Cornwall Council, New County Hall, Treyew Road, Truro, TR1 3AY

The changes to the divisions described in article 2 apply in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2021.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.