EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/568) ("the principal Regulations") to—

- (a) remove French Polynesia, Hungary, Portugal (not including the islands that make up The Azores and Madeira) and Réunion from the list of exempt countries and territories (i.e. countries and territories, listed in Schedule A1 to the principal Regulations, from which passengers arriving in England are not required to self-isolate); and
- (b) add Sweden to the list of exempt countries and territories and retain the islands that make up The Azores and Madeira on that list.

Passengers are not required to self-isolate on arrival in England if, during the 14 days preceding their arrival, they have only been in or transited through exempt countries or territories, or exempt parts of countries or territories. Passengers who have been in or transited through a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory, must self-isolate until 14 days have elapsed since the day after they last left a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory. The change to Schedule A1 will not affect passengers who arrive in England before 4.00 a.m. on 12th September 2020.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument. An explanatory memorandum has been published alongside this instrument at www.legislation.gov.uk.