STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 1572

PUBLIC HEALTH, ENGLAND

The Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (All Tiers) (England) (Amendment) (No. 2) Regulations 2020

Approved by both Houses of Parliament

Made	at 3.06 p.m. on 17th December 2020
Laid before Parliament	at 4.15 p.m. on 17th December 2020
Coming into force	19th December 2020

The Secretary of State makes the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 45C(1), (3)(c), (4)(b), (4)(d), 45F(2) and 45P of the Public Health (Control of Disease) Act 1984(1).

These Regulations are made in response to the serious and imminent threat to public health which is posed by the incidence and spread of severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) in England.

The Secretary of State considers that the restrictions and requirements imposed by the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (All Tiers) (England) Regulations 2020(2) as amended by these Regulations are proportionate to what they seek to achieve, which is a public health response to that threat.

In accordance with section 45R of that Act, the Secretary of State is of the opinion that, by reason of urgency, it is necessary to make this instrument without a draft having been laid before, and approved by a resolution of, each House of Parliament.

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (All Tiers) (England) (Amendment) (No. 2) Regulations 2020.

(2) These Regulations come into force on 19th December 2020.

(1) 1984 c. 22. Part 2A was inserted by section 129 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (c. 14).

(2) S.I. 2020/1374, as amended by S.I. 2020/1533.

Amendments to the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (All Tiers) (England) Regulations 2020

2.—(1) Schedule 4 of the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (All Tiers) (England) Regulations 2020 is amended as follows.

- (2) In Part 1 (Tier 2 area)—
 - (a) omit the following—
 - (i) "Bedford Borough Council";
 - (ii) "Bracknell Forest Council";
 - (iii) "Buckinghamshire Council";
 - (iv) "Central Bedfordshire Council";
 - (v) "Dacorum Borough Council";
 - (vi) "East Hertfordshire District Council";
 - (vii) "East Sussex County Council";
 - (viii) "Hampshire County Council";
 - (ix) "Herefordshire Council";
 - (x) "Luton Borough Council";
 - (xi) "Milton Keynes Borough Council";
 - (xii) "North Hertfordshire District Council";
 - (xiii) "Peterborough City Council";
 - (xiv) "Portsmouth City Council";
 - (xv) "Reading Borough Council";
 - (xvi) "Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead";
 - (xvii) "Stevenage Borough Council";
 - (xviii) "St Albans City and District Council";
 - (xix) "Surrey County Council";
 - (xx) "Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council";
 - (xxi) "West Berkshire Council";
 - (xxii) "Wokingham Borough Council";
 - (b) after "South East: ", insert—

"Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council";

- (c) after "Brighton and Hove City Council", insert-
 - "Eastbourne Borough Council
 - Eastleigh Borough Council
 - East Hampshire District Council
 - Fareham Borough Council
 - Hart District Council
 - Lewes District Council

New Forest District Council";

(d) after "Oxfordshire County Council", insert—"Rushmoor Borough Council";

- (e) after "Southampton City Council", insert—
 "Test Valley Borough Council
 Waverley Borough Council
 Wealden District Council";
- (f) after "West Sussex County Council", insert—"Winchester City Council";
- (g) after "Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council", insert—"Bristol City Council";
- (h) after "Gloucestershire County Council", insert—"North Somerset Council".
- (3) In Part 2 (Tier 3 area)—
 - (a) omit the following—
 - (i) "Bristol City Council";
 - (ii) "Broxbourne Borough Council";
 - (iii) "Hertsmere Borough Council";
 - (iv) "North Somerset Council";
 - (v) "Three Rivers District Council";
 - (vi) "Watford Borough Council";
 - (b) after "Basildon Borough Council", insert—"Bedford Borough Council";
 - (c) after "Castle Point Borough Council", insert—"Central Bedfordshire Council";
 - (d) after "Harlow District Council", insert—"Hertfordshire County Council Luton Borough Council";
 - (e) after "Maldon District Council", insert—"Milton Keynes Council Peterborough City Council";
 - (f) after "South East:", insert—
 "Bracknell Forest Council Buckinghamshire Council Elmbridge Borough Council Epsom and Ewell Borough Council Gosport Borough Council Guildford Borough Council Hastings Borough Council
 - (g) after "Medway Council", insert—"Mole Valley District Council Portsmouth City Council

Reading Borough Council Reigate and Banstead Borough Council Rother District Council Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead Runnymede Borough Council";

(h) after "Slough Borough Council", insert—
"Spelthorne Borough Council Surrey Heath Borough Council Tandridge District Council
West Berkshire Council
Woking Borough Council
Wokingham Borough Council".

> Helen Whately Minister of State Department of Health and Social Care

At 3.06 p.m. on 17th December 2020

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations make changes to the areas which are subject to the restrictions for Tier 2 and Tier 3, as defined in the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (All Tiers) (England) Regulations 2020.

No impact assessment has been prepared for these Regulations.