STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 1224

The City of Westminster (Electoral Changes) Order 2020

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the City of Westminster (Electoral Changes) Order 2020.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Article 3 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2022.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the City of Westminster (Electoral Changes) Order 2020", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the City of Westminster and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the City of Westminster are abolished.
- (2) The City of Westminster is divided into the 18 wards listed in the Schedule.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is three.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/greater-london/greater-london/westminster.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

5th November 2020