Regulations made by the Secretary of State, laid before Parliament under section 45R of the Public Health (Control of Disease) Act 1984 (c. 22), for approval by resolution of each House of Parliament within twenty-eight days beginning with the day on which the instrument is made, subject to extension for periods of dissolution, prorogation or adjournment for more than four days.

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2020 No. 1128

## PUBLIC HEALTH, ENGLAND

The Health Protection (Coronavirus, Local COVID-19 Alert Level) (High) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2020

	at 4.00 p.m. on 15th
Made	October 2020
	at 4.45 p.m. on 15th
Laid before Parliament	October 2020
Coming into force	17th October 2020

The Secretary of State makes the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 45C(1), (3)(c), (4)(b), (4)(d), 45F(2) and 45P of the Public Health (Control of Disease) Act 1984(1).

These Regulations are made in response to the serious and imminent threat to public health which is posed by the incidence and spread of severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) in England.

The Secretary of State considers that the restrictions and requirements imposed by the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Local COVID-19 Alert Level) (High) (England) Regulations 2020(2) as amended by these Regulations are proportionate to what they seek to achieve, which is a public health response to that threat.

In accordance with section 45R of that Act, the Secretary of State is of the opinion that, by reason of urgency, it is necessary to make this instrument without a draft having been laid before, and approved by a resolution of, each House of Parliament.

#### Citation and commencement

**1.**—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Local COVID-19 Alert Level) (High) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2020.

(2) These Regulations come into force on 17th October 2020.

<sup>(1) 1984</sup> c. 22. Part 2A was inserted by section 129 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (c. 14).

<sup>(</sup>**2**) S.I. 2020/1104.

# Amendment of the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Local COVID-19 Alert Level) (High) (England) Regulations 2020

**2.**—(1) Schedule 2 to the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Local COVID-19 Alert Level) (High) (England) Regulations 2020 is amended as follows.

(2) After "Warrington Borough Council", insert-

"Cumbria

Barrow-in-Furness Borough Council".

(3) For "Derbyshire" and the entries under that heading, substitute-

"Derbyshire

Chesterfield Borough Council

Erewash Borough Council

In the area of High Peak Borough Council, the following electoral areas (as defined by section 203(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3))—

- (a) Dinting
- (b) Gamesley
- (c) Hadfield North
- (d) Hadfield South
- (e) Howard Town
- (f) Old Glossop
- (g) Padfield
- (h) Simmondley
- (i) St John's
- (j) Tintwistle
- (k) Whitfield

North East Derbyshire District Council".

(4) After "Durham County Council", insert-

"Essex

- Basildon Council
- Braintree District Council
- Brentwood Borough Council
- Castle Point Borough Council
- Chelmsford City Council
- Colchester Borough Council
- **Epping Forest District Council**
- Harlow Council
- Maldon District Council
- **Rochford District Council**
- Tendring District Council

<sup>(3) 1983</sup> c. 2. The definition of "electoral area" was substituted by paragraph 71 of Schedule 4 to the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), and amended by paragraph 39 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

Uttlesford District Council Greater London The Common Council of the City of London Barking and Dagenham Borough Council Barnet Borough Council Bexley Borough Council Brent Borough Council Bromley Borough Council Camden Borough Council Croydon Borough Council Ealing Borough Council Enfield Borough Council Greenwich Borough Council Hackney Borough Council Hammersmith and Fulham Borough Council Haringey Borough Council Harrow Borough Council Havering Borough Council Hillingdon Borough Council Hounslow Borough Council Islington Borough Council Kensington and Chelsea Borough Council Kingston upon Thames Borough Council Lambeth Borough Council Lewisham Borough Council Merton Borough Council Newham Borough Council Redbridge Borough Council Richmond upon Thames Borough Council Southwark Borough Council Sutton Borough Council Tower Hamlets Borough Council Waltham Forest Borough Council Wandsworth Borough Council Westminster City Council". (5) After "Northumberland County Council", insert-"North Yorkshire City of York Council".

(6) After "Sheffield City Council", insert-

"Surrey

Elmbridge Borough Council".

At 4.00 p.m. on 15th October 2020

*Matt Hancock* Secretary of State Department for Health and Social Care

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations make changes to the areas which are subject to the restrictions set out in the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Local COVID-19 Alert Level) (High) (England) Regulations 2020. No impact assessment has been prepared for these Regulations.