STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No. 37

The Tewkesbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Tewkesbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales(1) in 2019.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Tewkesbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the borough of Tewkesbury

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Tewkesbury are abolished.
- (2) The borough of Tewkesbury is divided into 20 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Bishop's Cleeve, Brockworth, Churchdown and Tewkesbury

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Bishop's Cleeve, Brockworth, Churchdown and Tewkesbury are abolished.
- (2) Each of the parishes mentioned in paragraph (1) is divided into the parish wards listed in the entries in the second column of the table in Schedule 2 which relate to that parish.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2) as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/gloucestershire/tewkesbury

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified by the entry in the third column of the table in Schedule 2 which relates to that parish ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

15th January 2018