STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2017 No. 477

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Harrogate (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - 27th March 2017 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2), (3) and (4)

Having conducted a review of the electoral arrangements in the borough of Harrogate under section 56 of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1), and having published recommendations following that review in December 2016 under section 58(4) of that Act, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) makes this Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 59(1) and (2) of that Act.

Further to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946(3), a draft of the Order has been laid before each House of Parliament and a period of forty days has elapsed since the day on which it was laid; neither House has resolved that the Order be not made.

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Harrogate (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.
- (2) The provisions of this Order specified in paragraph (3) come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
 - (3) The provisions specified in this paragraph are—
 - (a) this article; and
 - (b) the remaining provisions of this Order, but only for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors.
- (4) The provisions of this Order specified in paragraph (3)(b) come into force for all purposes other than those described in that paragraph on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales in 2018.
- (5) In this article "the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales" has the meaning given by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983(4).

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c. 20).

^{(3) 1946} c. 36.

^{(4) 1983} c. 2; section 37(1) was amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

- (6) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Harrogate (Electoral Changes) Order 2017", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).
- (7) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the borough of Harrogate and number of councillors

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Harrogate are abolished.
- (2) The borough of Harrogate is divided into 40 wards as listed in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) One councillor is to be elected to each ward listed in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Killinghall, Knaresborough and Ripon

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Killinghall, Knaresborough and Ripon are abolished.
- (2) Each of the parishes mentioned in paragraph (1) is divided into the parish wards listed in the entries in the second column of the table in Schedule 2 which relate to that parish.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected to each parish ward is the number specified by the entry in the third column of the table in Schedule 2 which relates to that parish ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

27th March 2017

⁽⁵⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/yorkshire-and-the-humber/north-yorkshire/harrogate.

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

Names of wards

- 1. Bishop Monkton & Newby.
- **2.** Boroughbridge.
- 3. Claro.
- 4. Fountains & Ripley.
- 5. Harrogate Bilton Grange.
- **6.** Harrogate Bilton Woodfield.
- 7. Harrogate Central.
- 8. Harrogate Coppice Valley.
- **9.** Harrogate Duchy.
- 10. Harrogate Fairfax.
- 11. Harrogate Harlow.
- 12. Harrogate High Harrogate.
- **13.** Harrogate Hookstone.
- **14.** Harrogate Kingsley.
- **15.** Harrogate New Park.
- **16.** Harrogate Oatlands.
- 17. Harrogate Old Bilton.
- 18. Harrogate Pannal.
- **19.** Harrogate Saltergate.
- **20.** Harrogate St Georges.
- 21. Harrogate Starbeck.
- 22. Harrogate Stray.
- 23. Harrogate Valley Gardens.
- 24. Killinghall & Hampsthwaite.
- **25.** Knaresborough Aspin & Calcutt.
- **26.** Knaresborough Castle.
- 27. Knaresborough Eastfield.
- 28. Knaresborough Scriven Park.
- 29. Marston Moor.
- **30.** Masham & Kirkby Malzeard.
- 31. Nidd Valley.
- 32. Ouseburn.
- 33. Pateley Bridge & Nidderdale Moors.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

- 34. Ripon Minster.
- 35. Ripon Moorside.
- 36. Ripon Spa.
- 37. Ripon Ure Bank.
- 38. Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale.
- **39.** Washburn.
- 40. Wathvale.

SCHEDULE 2 Article 3 Names of parish wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of parish	Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Killinghall	Killinghall Oakdale	2
Killinghall	Killinghall Rural	5
Killinghall	Killinghall Saltergate	3
Knaresborough	Knaresborough Aspin & Calcutt	3
Knaresborough	Knaresborough Eastfield	4
Knaresborough	Knaresborough Castle	4
Knaresborough	Knaresborough Scriven Park	4
Ripon	Ripon Minster	3
Ripon	Ripon Moorside	4
Ripon	Ripon Spa	4
Ripon	Ripon Ure Bank	4

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the borough of Harrogate following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged. The changes which articles 2 and 3 introduce begin to apply to local government elections in 2018.

Document Generated: 2023-05-11

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 2 abolishes the existing electoral wards comprising the borough of Harrogate and provides that the borough of Harrogate is divided into 40 wards, each of which is to be represented by one councillor; Schedule 1 specifies the names of those wards.

Article 3 and Schedule 2 make provision in respect of parish wards which is consequential to certain of the changes introduced by article 2.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/yorkshire-and-the-humber/north-yorkshire/harrogate.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.