#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2016 No. 941

## The Local Justice Areas Order 2016

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Local Justice Areas Order 2016.
- (2) This Order comes into force on 14th October 2016 for the purposes of Parts 1 and 2 of the Schedule.
  - (3) For all other purposes, this Order comes into force on 1st April 2017.

## Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"continuing area" means a local justice area other than an existing area or a new area;

"existing area" means a local justice area, listed in article 3, as it exists immediately before 1st April 2017;

"FTAAAC area", "JTAAAC area", "FTAAAC selection panel", "JTAAAC selection panel" and "justice" have the meaning given in the Justices of the Peace Rules 2016(1);

"new area" means a local justice area constituted by this Order.

#### **New Areas**

- **3.**—(1) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Bristol,
  - (b) North Avon, and
  - (c) Somerset,

are combined to become a new area named Avon and Somerset.

- (2) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Newcastle and Ogmore, and
  - (b) Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan,

are combined to become a new area named Cardiff.

- (3) The existing areas of—
  - (a) North Cheshire,
  - (b) South and East Cheshire, and
  - (c) West Cheshire,

are combined to become a new area named Cheshire.

- (4) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Hartlepool, and

(b) Teesside,

are combined to become a new area of Cleveland.

- (5) The existing areas of—
  - (a) South East Hampshire, and
  - (b) South Hampshire,

are combined to become a new area named East Hampshire.

- (6) The existing areas of—
  - (a) East Yorkshire,
  - (b) Grimsby and Cleethorpes,
  - (c) Hull and Holderness, and
  - (d) North Lincolnshire,

are combined to become a new area named Humber.

- (7) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Liverpool and Knowsley,
  - (b) Sefton,
  - (c) St Helens, and
  - (d) Wirral,

are combined to become a new area named Merseyside.

- (8) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Brecknock and Radnorshire, and
  - (b) Glamorgan Valleys,

are combined to become a new area named Mid Wales.

- (9) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Corby,
  - (b) Kettering,
  - (c) Northampton, Daventry and Towcester, and
  - (d) Wellingborough,

are combined to become a new area named Northamptonshire.

- (10) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Conwy, and
  - (b) Denbighshire,

are combined to become a new area named North Central Wales.

- (11) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Gwynedd, and
  - (b) Ynys Môn/ Anglesey

are combined to become a new area named North West Wales.

- (12) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Barnsley District,
  - (b) Doncaster,
  - (c) Rotherham, and

(d) Sheffield,

are combined to become a new area named South Yorkshire.

- (13) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Central and South West Staffordshire,
  - (b) North Staffordshire, and
  - (c) South East Staffordshire,

are combined to become a new area named Staffordshire.

- (14) The existing areas of—
  - (a) North Surrey
  - (b) South East Surrey, and
  - (c) South West Surrey,

are combined to become a new area named Surrey.

- (15) The existing areas of—
  - (a) Bradford and Keighley,
  - (b) Calderdale,
  - (c) Kirklees,
  - (d) Leeds District, and
  - (e) Wakefield and Pontefract,

are combined to become a new area named West Yorkshire.

### **Amendments to the Local Justice Areas Order 2005**

- **4.**—(1) The Schedule to the Local Justice Areas Order 2005(2) is amended as follows.
- (2) In the relevant place—
  - (a) omit—
    - (i) "Barnsley District";
    - (ii) "Bradford and Keighley";
    - (iii) "Brecknock and Radnorshire";
    - (iv) "Bristol";
    - (v) "Calderdale";
    - (vi) "Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan";
    - (vii) "Central and South West Staffordshire";
    - (viii) "Corby";
    - (ix) "Conwy";
    - (x) "Denbighshire";
    - (xi) "Doncaster";
    - (xii) "East Yorkshire";
    - (xiii) "Glamorgan Valleys";

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 2005/554. This Schedule was substituted by S.I. 2011/1168 and amended by S.I. 2011/1708, S.I. 2012/1277, S.I. 2012/1555, S.I. 2012/3128, S.I. 2013/1777, S.I. 2013/1878, S.I. 2014/322, S.I. 2014/1899, S.I. 2014/2867, S.I. 2015/1506 and S.I. 2015/1870.

```
(xiv) "Grimsby and Cleethorpes";
    (xv) "Gwynedd";
    (xvi) "Hartlepool";
   (xvii) "Hull and Holderness";
   (xviii) "Kettering";
    (xix) "Kirklees";
    (xx) "Leeds District";
    (xxi) "Liverpool and Knowsley";
   (xxii) "Newcastle and Ogmore";
   (xxiii) "North Avon";
   (xxiv) "North Cheshire";
   (xxv) "North Lincolnshire";
   (xxvi) "North Staffordshire";
  (xxvii) "North Surrey"
 (xxviii) "Northampton, Daventry and Towcester";
   (xxix) "Rotherham";
   (xxx) "Sefton";
   (xxxi) "Sheffield";
  (xxxii) "Somerset";
 (xxxiii) "South and East Cheshire";
 (xxxiv) "South East Hampshire";
  (xxxv) "South East Staffordshire";
 (xxxvi) "South Hampshire";
 (xxxvii) South East Surrey
(xxxviii) South West Surrey
 (xxxix) "St Helens";
     (xl) "Teesside";
    (xli) "Wakefield and Pontefract";
    (xlii) "Wellingborough";
   (xliii) "West Cheshire";
   (xliv) "Wirral";
    (xlv) "Ynys Môn/ Anglesey"; and
(b) insert—
      (i) "Avon and Somerset";
      (ii) "Cardiff";
     (iii) "Cheshire";
     (iv) "Cleveland";
      (v) "East Hampshire";
     (vi) "Humber";
```

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

- (vii) "Merseyside";
- (viii) "Mid Wales";
  - (ix) "Northamptonshire";
  - (x) "North Central Wales";
  - (xi) "North West Wales";
- (xii) "South Yorkshire";
- (xiii) "Staffordshire";
- (xiv) "Surrey";
- (xv) "West Yorkshire".

## **Schedule**

**5.** The Schedule to this Order has effect.

Sir Oliver Heald QC Minister of State Ministry of Justice

15th September 2016