STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2016 No. 1202

The London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
 - (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 16 October 2017;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2018.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the London Borough of Southwark and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the London Borough of Southwark are abolished.
- (2) The London Borough of Southwark is divided into 23 wards as listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP and is also accessible online at www.lgbce.org.uk.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



23rd November 2016

Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England