The Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) (England) Order 2015

Article 2(3) to (5)


This schedule has no associated Explanatory Memorandum

PART 1Article 2(3) land

1.  Land within—

(a)an area designated as a conservation area under section 69 of the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990 (designation of conservation areas);

(b)an area of outstanding natural beauty;

(c)an area specified by the Secretary of State for the purposes of section 41(3) of the Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981 (enhancement and protection of the natural beauty and amenity of the countryside)(1);

(d)the Broads;

(e)a National Park; and

(f)a World Heritage Site.

PART 2Article 2(4) land

2.—(1) Land within the following areas—

(a)a National Park;

(b)the Broads; or

(c)land outside the boundaries of a National Park which is within the parishes listed in sub-paragraph (2).

(2) The parishes are—

(a)in the district of Allerdale—

Blindcrake, Bothel and Threapland, Bridekirk, Brigham, Broughton, Broughton Moor, Camerton, Crosscanonby, Dean, Dearham, Gilcrux, Great Clifton, Greysouthen, Little Clifton, Loweswater, Oughterside and Allerby, Papcastle, Plumbland, Seaton, Winscales;

(b)in the borough of Copeland—

Arlecdon and Frizington, Cleator Moor, Distington, Drigg and Carleton, Egremont, Gosforth, Haile, Irton with Santon, Lamplugh, Lowca, Lowside Quarter, Millom, Millom Without, Moresby, Parton, Ponsonby, St Bees, St Bridget’s Beckermet, St John’s Beckermet, Seascale, Weddicar;

(c)in the district of Eden—

Ainstable, Asby, Bandleyside, Bolton, Brough, Brough Sowerby, Brougham, Castle Sowerby, Catterlen, Clifton, Cliburn, Crackenthorpe, Crosby Garrett, Crosby Ravensworth, Culgaith, Dacre, Dufton, Glassonby, Great Salkeld, Great Strickland, Greystoke, Hartley, Hesket, Hillbeck, Hunsonby, Hutton, Kaber, Kings Meaburn, Kirkby Stephen, Kirby Thore, Kirkoswald, Langwathby, Lazonby, Little Strickland, Long Marton, Lowther, Mallerstang, Milburn, Morland, Mungrisdale, Murton, Musgrave, Nateby, Newbiggin, Newby, Orton, Ousby, Ravenstonedale, Shap, Skelton, Sleagill, Sockbridge and Tirril, Soulby, Stainmore, Tebay, Temple Sowerby, Thrimby, Waitby, Warcop, Wharton, Winton, Yanwath and Eamont Bridge;

(d)in the borough of High Peak—

Chapel-en-le-Frith, Charlesworth, Chinley Buxworth and Brownside, Chisworth, Green Fairfield, Hartington Upper Quarter, Hayfield, King Sterndale, Tintwistle, Wormhill;

(e)in the district of South Lakeland—

Aldingham, Angerton, Arnside, Barbon, Beetham, Blawith and Subberthwaite, Broughton West, Burton, Casterton, Docker, Egton-with-Newland, Fawcett Forest, Firbank, Grayrigg, Helsington, Heversham, Hincaster, Holme, Hutton Roof, Killington, Kirkby Ireleth, Kirkby Lonsdale, Lambrigg, Levens, Lower Allithwaite, Lower Holker, Lowick, Lupton, Mansergh, Mansriggs, Middleton, Milnthorpe, Natland, New Hutton, Old Hutton and Holmescales, Osmotherley, Pennington, Preston Patrick, Preston Richard, Scalthwaiterigg, Sedgwick, Skelsmergh, Stainton, Strickland Ketel, Strickland Roger, Urswick, Whinfell, Whitwell and Selside;

(f)in the district of West Derbyshire—

Aldwark, Birchover, Stanton.

PART 3Article 2(5) land

3.  Land within the areas named in column 1 of the table in this Part is designated by reference to the area bounded externally by the outer edge of the boundary line shown on the corresponding map specified in column 3 of the table.


Column 1 – name of areaColumn 2 – local planning authority for the areaColumn 3 – map number (colour / style of boundary line)
Central Activities Zone and Tech City, LondonCommon Council of the City of London1.1 (red line)
London Borough Council of Islington1.2 (red line)
London Borough Council of Hackney1.3 to 1.7 (blue line)
London Borough Council of Tower Hamlets1.8 and 1.9 (red line and black borough boundary line, green line and black borough boundary line and pink line)
London Borough Council of Southwark1.10 (red line)
London Borough Council of Lambeth1.11 (red line)
London Borough Council of Wandsworth1.12 (blue line and black-dashed borough boundary line)
Westminster City Council1.13 (red line)
Royal Borough Council of Kensington and Chelsea1.14 (red line)
London Borough Council of Camden1.15 (red line)
The whole of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea (so far as not already designated under the entry for Central Activities Zone and Tech City)Royal Borough Council of Kensington and Chelsea1.14 (red line)
Areas in the Isle of Dogs (so far as not already designated under the entry for Central Activities Zone and Tech City)London Borough Council of Tower Hamlets1.8 and 1.9 (blue line)
3 areas known as the Royal Docks Enterprise ZoneLondon Borough Council of Newham1.16 (red line)
2 areas known as Milton Park Enterprise ZoneVale of the White Horse Borough Council1.17 (red line)
Harwell Oxford Enterprise ZoneVale of the White Horse Borough Council1.18 (red line)
2 areas known as Manchester City Centre CoreManchester City Council1.19 (red line)
13 areas within the Gunnels Wood Employment AreaStevenage Borough Council1.20 (red line)
8 areas in and around De BeauvoirLondon Borough of Hackney1.21 (blue line)
6 areas in and around Mare StreetLondon Borough of Hackney1.22 (blue line)
BT Building, London RoadSevenoaks District Council1.23 (black line)
An area in London RoadSevenoaks District Council1.24 (black line)

Crown Inn, Westerham

Trading Centre, Westerham

Sevenoaks District Council1.25 (black line)
Ashford Commercial QuarterAshford Borough Council1.26 (red line)
Petersfield ParishEast Hampshire District Council1.27 (red line)
Alton ParishEast Hampshire District Council1.28 (red line)
An area in Whitehall and BordonEast Hampshire District Council1.29 (red line)
Horndean ParishEast Hampshire District Council1.30 (red line)
Liss ParishEast Hampshire District Council1.31 (red line)
Bramshott and Liphook Ward and ParishEast Hampshire District Council1.32 (red line)
Ropley ParishEast Hampshire District Council1.33 (red line)
Bentley ParishEast Hampshire District Council1.34 (red line)
Grayshott Ward and ParishEast Hampshire District Council1.35 (red line)
Four Marks and Medstead WardEast Hampshire District Council1.36 (red line)

4.  In this Part reference to a map is to one of the maps numbered 1.1 to 1.36 and entitled “Maps of areas exempt from office to residential change of use permitted development right 2013”, of which copies, signed by a member of the Senior Civil Service in the Department for Communities and Local Government, are available for inspection at the Planning Directorate, Department for Communities and Local Government, 2 Marsham Street, London, SW1P 4DF.


1981 c. 69. Section 41 was amended by sections 20 and 24 of, and Schedules 3 and 4 to, the Agriculture Act 1986 (c. 49), Schedule 3 to the Norfolk and Suffolk Broads Act 1988 (c. 4), Schedule 10 to the Environment Act 1995 (c. 25) and Schedules 11 and 12 to the Natural Environment and Rural Communities Act 2006 (c. 16). There are other amendments not relevant to this Order.