2015 No. 1871

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Bristol (Electoral Changes) Order 2015

Made - - - - 5th November 2015

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) - (4)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) ("the Commission") published a report dated May 2015 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Bristol. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Bristol (Electoral Changes) Order 2015.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Bristol (Electoral Changes) Order 2015", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(c).

⁽a) 2009 c.20.

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽c) 1983 c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Wards of the district of Bristol and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Bristol are abolished.
- (2) The district of Bristol is divided into 34 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date 5th November 2015

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Names of district wards

Name of district wardNumber of councillorsAshley3Avonmouth & Lawrence Weston3Bedminster2Bishopston & Ashley Down2Bishopsworth2Brislington East2Brislington West2
Bedminster2Bishopston & Ashley Down2Bishopsworth2Brislington East2Brislington West2
Bishopston & Ashley Down 2 Bishopsworth 2 Brislington East 2 Brislington West 2
Bishopsworth 2 Brislington East 2 Brislington West 2
Bishopsworth 2 Brislington East 2 Brislington West 2
Brislington West 2
8
Central 2
Clifton Down 2
Clifton 2
Cotham 2
Easton 2
Eastville 2
Filwood 2
Frome Vale 2
Hartcliffe & Withywood 3
Henbury & Brentry 2
Hengrove &Whitchurch Park 3
Hillfields 2
Horfield 2
Hotwells & Harbourside 1
Knowle 2
Lawrence Hill 2
Lockleaze 2
Redland 2
Southmead 2
Southville 2
St George Central 2
St George Troopers Hill 1
St George West 1
Stockwood 2
Stoke Bishop 2
Westbury-on-Trym & Henleaze 3
Windmill Hill 2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Bristol, which is a metropolitan district with city status, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Bristol and replaces them with 34 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards. It is available at www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/bristol/bristol. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Bristol City Council, City Hall, College Green, Bristol BS1 5TR and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at 14th Floor, Millbank Tower, Millbank, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

© Crown copyright 2015

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

9 780111 140703

£4.25

UK201511091000 11/2015 19585