### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2014 No. 25

# The Kensington and Chelsea (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Kensington and Chelsea (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 17th February 2014;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2014.
- (3) In this article, "ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

### Wards of the Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea and number of councillors

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea are abolished.
- (2) The Royal borough of Kensington and Chelsea is divided into 18 wards, each listed by name in the first column of the Schedule.
  - (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.
- (6) In this article, "map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Kensington and Chelsea (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

<sup>(1) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Max Caller

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 9th day of January 2014



Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

9th January 2014