## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

## (This note is not part of the Order)

Under Section 41 of the Marine and Coastal Access Act 2009 provision is made for the declaration around the United Kingdom of an exclusive economic zone, that is to say a zone in which the United Kingdom may exercise the rights under Part V of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea; these rights relate principally to the water column and may extend to 200 nautical miles from baselines.

Article 2 of this Order declares the area of the United Kingdom's exclusive economic zone. It reflects the treaties which have been concluded with the Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, the Netherlands and Norway, and the understanding with Germany. Article 3 is required because under the treaties with Denmark relating to the Faroe Islands the area to the north of the line specified can only be utilised for the purposes of renewable energy and gas storage with the prior consent of Denmark. The Orders referred to in Article 1(2) are revoked because they are superseded by the declaration of the Exclusive Economic Zone.

The treaties in question are:

Belgium: Exchange of Letters of 25 June and 12 August 2013(Cm 8723);

Denmark: Exchange of Notes of 22 October 2009 (relating to the North Sea) (Cm 7893);

Agreement of 18 May 1999 (relating to the Faroe Islands) (Cm 4514);

Protocol of 25 April 2012 (relating to the Faroe Islands) (Cm8570);

France: Exchange of Letters of 20 April 2011 (Cm 8146);

Ireland: Agreement of 28 March 2013 (Cm 8666);

Netherlands: Exchange of Notes of 19 April and 3 July 2013 (Cm 8724);

Norway: Exchange of Notes of 30 April 2009 (Cm 7731).