EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the county of Northumberland following recommendations made by the Boundary Committee for England. The area of the county remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral divisions of the county and replaces them with 66 new ones. That article, the map and the Schedule also establish the names and areas of the new electoral divisions and the number of councillors for each electoral division.

Article 4 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Ashington and replaces them with 6 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 5 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Blyth and replaces them with 8 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 6 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Choppington and replaces them with 4 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 7 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Cramlington and replaces them with 6 ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 8 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of East Bedlington and replaces them with 2 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 9 establishes 2 wards for the parish of East Chevington. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 10 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Hepscott and replaces them with 2 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 11 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Hexham and replaces them with 3 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 12 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Morpeth and replaces them with 3 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 13 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Newbiggin by the Sea and replaces them with 2 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 14 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Ponteland and replaces them with 4 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 15 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Prudhoe and replaces them with 3 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 16 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Seaton Valley and replaces them with 3 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 17 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of West Bedlington and replaces them with 3 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 18 establishes 2 wards for the parish of Widdrington Station and Stobswood. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new county electoral divisions and parish wards. It is available at www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-east/northumberland/northumberland-electoral-review and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of the council of the county of Northumberland and at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.