STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2010 No. 998

The Exeter and Devon (Structural Changes) Order 2010

PART 1

GENERAL

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"the 2007 Act" means the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007;

"the 2000 Act" means the Local Government Act 2000(1);

"the 1972 Act" means the Local Government Act 1972(2);

"article 5 functions" means the other transitional functions referred to in article 5;

"existing" means existing on the day on which this Order is made;

"Exeter", except the second mention of that word in article 3(2), in article 3(3), and in the expressions "the Exeter county electoral divisions" and "Exeter City Council", means the city of Exeter;

"Exeter City Council" means the non-metropolitan district council of that name(3);

"the Exeter county electoral divisions" means the existing county electoral divisions of Alphington and Cowick, Duryard and Pennsylvania, Exwick and St Thomas, Heavitree and Whipton and Barton, Newtown and Polsloe, Pinhoe and Mincinglake, Priory and St Leonard's, St David's and St James, and St Loyes and Topsham that are established by article 3 of the County of Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2004(4);

"the 2011 election day" means the ordinary day of election of councillors(5) in 2011;

"the Implementation Executive" means the body established (whether before or after the coming into force of this Order) for the purposes of article 4(3);

"the main transitional function" has the meaning given by article 4(1);

"the proper officer", in relation to any purpose and Exeter City Council or Devon County Council, means the officer appointed for that purpose by that council; and

"the transitional period" means the period beginning on the date when this Order comes into force and ending on the fourth day after the 2011 election day.

^{(1) 2000} c.22.

^{(2) 1972} c.70.

⁽³⁾ The district of Exeter has the status of a city.

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 2004/2812.

⁽⁵⁾ See section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2).