STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2010 No. 970

CRIMINAL LAW, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Crime and Disorder Act 1998 (Responsible Authorities) Order 2010

Made - - - - 24th March 2010
Laid before Parliament 26th March 2010
Coming into force - - 1st May 2010

This Order is made in exercise of the powers conferred by section 5(1A) of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998(1).

An application for an Order containing the provisions set out in article 2 below has been made jointly by all persons who would be responsible authorities in relation to a combined area consisting of the local government areas of Bassetlaw District Council and Newark and Sherwood District Council.

An application for an Order containing the provisions set out in article 3 below has been made jointly by all persons who would be responsible authorities in relation to a combined area consisting of the local government areas of West Dorset District Council, Weymouth and Portland Borough Council, Purbeck District Council, Christchurch Borough Council, East Dorset District Council and North Dorset District Council.

The Secretary of State considers it would be in the interests of reducing crime and disorder and of combating the misuse of drugs, alcohol and other substances to make such an Order.

Accordingly the Secretary of State makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 (Responsible Authorities) Order 2010 and shall come into force on 1st May 2010.

Combined areas

2.—(1) The functions conferred by sections 6 and 7 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998(2) are to be carried out in relation to the local government areas of Bassetlaw District Council and Newark

^{(1) 1998} c.37; subsection (1A) was inserted into section 5 by section 97(1) and (3) of the Police Reform Act 2002 (c.30) and was amended by section 22 of, and paragraph 2(3) of Schedule 9 to, the Police and Justice Act 2006 (c.48).

⁽²⁾ Section 6 was substituted by section 22 of, and paragraph 3 of Schedule 9 to, the Police and Justice Act 2006. Section 6 is prospectively amended by section 108(4) and (5) of the Policing and Crime Act 2009 (c. 26) with effect from 1st April 2010.

and Sherwood District Council as if they constituted only one area (for the purposes of this article, "the combined area").

- (2) The persons who for the purposes of Chapter 1 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 are to be taken as the responsible authorities in relation to the combined area are the persons who comprise every person who, apart from this Order, would be a responsible authority in relation to one or both of the areas included in the combined area.
- **3.**—(1) The functions conferred by sections 6 and 7 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 are to be carried out in relation to the local government areas of West Dorset District Council, Weymouth and Portland Borough Council, Purbeck District Council, Christchurch Borough Council, East Dorset District Council and North Dorset District Council as if they constituted only one area (for the purposes of this article, "the combined area").
- (2) The persons who for the purposes of Chapter 1 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 are to be taken as the responsible authorities in relation to the combined area are the persons who comprise every person who, apart from this Order, would be a responsible authority in relation to any one or more of the areas included in the combined area.

Home Office 24th March 2010 Alan Campbell
Parliamentary Under–Secretary of State

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order has the effect that two community safety partnerships (previously referred to as 'crime and disorder reduction partnerships') in Nottinghamshire and six community safety partnerships in Dorset are to be combined to form the Bassetlaw and Newark and Sherwood Community Safety Partnership and Dorset Community Safety Partnership respectively. The partnerships will perform the functions conferred by sections 6 and 7 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998. The Nottinghamshire partnership will comprise the local government areas of Bassetlaw District Council and Newark and Sherwood District Councils. The Dorset partnership will comprise the local government areas of West Dorset District Council, Weymouth and Portland Borough Council, Purbeck District Council, Christchurch Borough Council, East Dorset District Council and North Dorset District Council.