STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No. 621

CRIMINAL LAW, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Discharge of Fines by Unpaid Work (Pilot Schemes) (Amendment) Order 2008

Made - - - - 6th March 2008
Laid before Parliament 6th March 2008
Coming into force - - 30th March 2008

The Lord Chancellor makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 97(5) of the Courts Act 2003(1):

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Discharge of Fines by Unpaid Work (Pilot Schemes) (Amendment) Order 2008 and shall come into force on 30th March 2008.
- **2.** The Discharge of Fines by Unpaid Work (Pilot Schemes) Order 2004(2) is amended as follows—
 - (a) in article 2 for the words "31st March 2008", substitute "31st March 2009"; and
 - (b) in the Schedule, after the entries relating to the local justice areas(3) in Cheshire: Halton, Warrington insert—

"Local Justice Areas in Cleveland:

Hartlepool Langbaurgh East Teesside".

^{(1) 2003} c.39

⁽²⁾ S.I. 2004/2198. Relevant amendments were made by S.I. 2005/563, 2005/617, 2006/502 and 2007/773.

⁽³⁾ References in the Discharge of Fines by Unpaid Work (Pilot Schemes) Order 2004 to "petty sessions areas" were substituted by "local justice areas" by S.I. 2005/617, which were made under section 109(4)(a), (5)(b) and (6) of the Courts Act 2003.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

David Hanson Minister of State Ministry of Justice

6th March 2008

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Discharge of Fines by Unpaid Work (Pilot Schemes) Order 2004 (S.I. 2004/2198) ("the 2004 Order") which specifies the local justice areas in which the provisions of Schedule 6 (Discharge of Fines by Unpaid Work) to the Courts Act 2003 (c.39) are to be piloted and the period of the pilot. This Order extends the period of the pilot schemes provided for in the 2004 Order for a further year ending 31st March 2009. It also adds the following local justice areas in Cleveland to the pilot: Hartlepool, Langbaurgh East and Teesside.