### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2008 No. 494

# The Northumberland (Structural Change) Order 2008

## PART 2

## ESTABLISHMENT OF SINGLE TIER LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN NORTHUMBERLAND

#### Single tier local government in Northumberland

**3.**—(1) On and after 1st April 2009 the Northumberland council shall be the sole principal authority for Northumberland.

(2) For the purposes of enactments relating to local government, there shall be a new district, whose area shall be co-terminous with that of Northumberland; and the name of that new district shall be Northumberland.

#### Abolition of districts and winding up and dissolution of district councils

- 4. On 1st April 2009-
  - (a) the following local government areas shall be abolished—
    - (i) the borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed,
    - (ii) the borough of Blyth Valley,
    - (iii) the borough of Castle Morpeth,
    - (iv) the district of Alnwick,
    - (v) the district of Tynedale, and
    - (vi) the district of Wansbeck; and
  - (b) the following councils shall be wound up and dissolved—
    - (i) Berwick-upon-Tweed Borough Council,
    - (ii) Blyth Valley Borough Council,
    - (iii) Castle Morpeth Borough Council,
    - (iv) Alnwick District Council,
    - (v) Tynedale District Council, and
    - (vi) Wansbeck District Council.

### Cessation of term of office of district councillors

**5.** Every person who holds office as a councillor of one of the district councils immediately before 1st April 2009 shall cease to hold office on that date.