STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No. 492

The Shropshire (Structural Change) Order 2008

PART 2

ESTABLISHMENT OF SINGLE TIER LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN SHROPSHIRE

Single tier local government in Shropshire

- **3.**—(1) On and after 1st April 2009 the Shropshire council shall be the sole principal authority for Shropshire.
- (2) For the purposes of enactments relating to local government, there shall be a new district, whose area shall be co-terminous with that of Shropshire; and the name of that new district shall be Shropshire.

Abolition of districts and winding up and dissolution of district councils

- 4. On 1st April 2009—
 - (a) the following local government areas shall be abolished—
 - (i) the borough of Oswestry,
 - (ii) the borough of Shrewsbury and Atcham,
 - (iii) the district of Bridgnorth,
 - (iv) the district of North Shropshire, and
 - (v) the district of South Shropshire; and
 - (b) the following councils shall be wound up and dissolved—
 - (i) Oswestry Borough Council,
 - (ii) Shrewsbury and Atcham Borough Council,
 - (iii) Bridgnorth District Council,
 - (iv) North Shropshire District Council, and
 - (v) South Shropshire District Council.

Cessation of term of office of district councillors

5. Every person who holds office as a councillor of one of the district councils immediately before 1st April 2009 shall cease to hold office on that date.