## EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the borough of Welwyn Hatfield following recommendations made by the Boundary Committee for England to the Electoral Commission.

The Electoral Commission accepted the Boundary Committee's recommendations with two modifications. The modifications concern the boundary between Howlands and Panshanger borough wards and the boundary between Digswell, and Oaklands and Mardley Heath parish wards in the parish of Welwyn.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2008.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and replaces them with 17 new ones. That article, the map and Schedule 1 also establish the names and areas of the new borough wards and the numbers of borough councillors for each ward.

Article 4 makes provision for a whole council election in 2008 and for reversion to the established system of election by thirds in subsequent years.

Schedule 2 provides for the order of retirement of councillors.

Article 5 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Hatfield and replaces them with 6 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 6 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Welwyn and replaces them with 3 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 7 provides for elections of parish councillors for the parishes of Hatfield and Welwyn in the borough in 2008, 2011 and every four years thereafter.

Article 9 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 10 revokes article 2, 3(4), 4 and Schedule 1 and 2 of the District of Welwyn Hatfield (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new borough and parish wards. It is available at www.boundarycommittee.org.uk/your-area/welwynhatfield.cfm and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.