STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No. 2435

The Isle of Wight (Electoral Changes) Order 2008

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Isle of Wight (Electoral Changes) Order 2008.
- (2) This Order, with the exception of articles 8, 9 and 11, comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009 on 15th October 2008;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009.
- (3) Articles 8, 9 and 11 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of parish councillors for the parishes of Newport, Ryde and Whippingham to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2010, on 15th October 2009;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2010.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"county" means the county of Isle of Wight;

"existing" means existing on the date this Order is made;

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Isle of Wight (Electoral Changes) Order 2008", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Electoral Commission: and any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1); and

"registration officer" means an officer appointed for the purpose of, and in accordance with, section 8(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1983.

Electoral divisions of the Isle of Wight

- **3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the county(3) shall be abolished.
- (2) The county shall be divided into thirty-nine electoral divisions which shall be named as set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) Each electoral division shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the electoral division and demarcated by red lines.

^{(1) 1983} c.2, section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the 2007 Act (c.28).

⁽²⁾ Section 8 has been amended by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c.19) and the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c.39).

⁽³⁾ See the Isle of Wight (Electoral Changes) Order 2000 (S.I. 2000/2606).

- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division shall be the number specified in respect of the electoral division in column (2) of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Cowes

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Cowes(**4**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four wards which shall be named Cowes Medina, Cowes North, Cowes South and Cowes West.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 3 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each of Cowes Medina and Cowes North wards shall be five, and for each of Cowes South and Cowes West wards shall be three.

Wards of the parish of East Cowes

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of East Cowes(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two wards which shall be named East Cowes North and Osborne
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 3 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
 - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be four.

Wards of the parish of Freshwater

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Freshwater shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two wards which shall be named Afton and Norton.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 2 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
 - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be seven.

Wards of the parish of Lake

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Lake(6) shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two wards which shall be named Lake North and Lake South.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 8 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for Lake North ward shall be seven, and for Lake South ward shall be three.

⁽⁴⁾ See S.I. 2000/2606.

⁽⁵⁾ See S.I. 2000/2606.

⁽⁶⁾ See S.I. 2000/2606.

Wards of the parish of Newport

- **8.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Newport(7) shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into seven wards which shall be named Carisbrooke, Newport Central, Newport East, Newport North, Newport South, Newport West and Parkhurst.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheets 3, 4, 5 and 6 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
 - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be two.

Wards of the parish of Ryde

- **9.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Ryde(8) shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into seven wards which shall be named Binstead, Haylands, Ryde East, Ryde North East, Ryde North West, Ryde South and Ryde West.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 7 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each of Ryde North West and Ryde West wards shall be three, and for each of Binstead, Haylands, Ryde East, Ryde North East and Ryde South wards shall be two.

Wards of the parish of Shanklin

- 10.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Shanklin(9) shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three wards which shall be named Shanklin Central, Shanklin North and Shanklin South.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheets 8 and 9 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each of Shanklin Central and Shanklin South wards shall be six, and for Shanklin North ward shall be three.

Wards of the parish of Whippingham

- 11.—(1) The parish of Whippingham(10) shall be divided into two wards which shall be named Whippingham North and Whippingham South.
- (2) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheets 3 and 5 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for Whippingham North ward shall be five and for Whippingham South ward shall be one.

Map

12. Isle of Wight Council shall make a print of the map available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

⁽⁷⁾ See the Isle of Wight (Parish Electoral Arrangements) Order 2008. The parish of Newport was created by the Isle of Wight (Parishes) Order 2008 (S.I. 2008/376).

⁽⁸⁾ See the Isle of Wight (Parish Electoral Arrangements) Order 2008. The parish of Ryde was created by S.I. 2008/376.

⁽⁹⁾ See S.I. 2000/2606.

⁽¹⁰⁾ See the Isle of Wight (Parish Electoral Arrangements) Order 2008. The parish of Whippingham was created by S.I. 2008/376.

Electoral register

13. The registration officer for the county shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 16th day of September 2008



16th September 2008

Bob Posner Legal Counsel to the Commission