STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No. 1954

The European Parliament (Number of MEPs and Distribution between Electoral Regions) (United Kingdom and Gibraltar) Order 2008

Amendment of European Parliamentary Elections Act 2002

2.—(1) Section 1 of the European Parliamentary Elections Act 2002(1) is amended as follows.

- (2) In subsection (1) (number of MEPs and electoral regions) for "78" substitute "72".
- (3) For subsection (3) substitute—

"(3) The number of MEPs to be elected for each electoral region is as follows—

East Midlands	5
Eastern	7
London	8
North East	3
North West	8
South East	10
South West	6
West Midlands	6
Yorkshire and the Humber	6
Scotland	6
Wales	4
Northern Ireland	3."

^{(1) 2002} c. 24. Section 1 was substituted by section 1, and extended to Gibraltar by section 19, of the European Parliament (Representation) Act 2003 (c.7). Section 1 of the European Parliamentary Elections Act 2002 (c.24) and the Table in Schedule 1 to that Act (areas included in electoral regions) were also amended by S.I.2004/366 and S.I.2004/1245. By virtue of article 3(6) of S.I.2004/366, Gibraltar is combined with the South West electoral region for the purpose of European Parliamentary elections.