EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of North Kesteven following recommendations made by the Boundary Committee for England to the Electoral Commission.

The Electoral Commission accepted the Boundary Committee's recommendations without modification.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and replaces them with 26 new ones. That article and the Schedule also establish the names and areas of the new district wards and the numbers of district councillors for each ward.

Article 4 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of North Hykeham and replaces them with 5 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 5 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Sleaford and replaces them with 6 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 6 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Waddington and replaces them with 2 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 7 alters the number of parish councillors for the parish of Ashby de la Launde and Bloxholm. This parish is not divided into parish wards.

Article 8 alters the number of parish councillors for the parish of Temple Bruer with Temple High Grange. This parish is not divided into parish wards.

Article 10 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 11 revokes the District of North Kesteven (Parishes and Electoral Changes) Order 1998, save for articles 2 and 5.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new parish wards. It is available at www.boundarycommittee.org.uk/your-area/northkesteven.cfm and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of North Kesteven District Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.