STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2004 No. 2815

The County of Kent (Electoral Changes) Order 2004

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the County of Kent (Electoral Changes) Order 2004.
- (2) This Order shall come into force
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2005, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2005.

Interpretation

2. In this Order –

"county" means the county of Kent;

"existing", in relation to an electoral division or ward, means the electoral division or ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

references to wards, unless the context otherwise requires, are references to district, borough and city wards in the county(1); and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the County of Kent (Electoral Changes) Order 2004", of which prints are available for inspection at –

- (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) the offices of Kent County Council.

Electoral divisions of the county of Kent

- **3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the county(**2**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The county shall be divided into seventy-two electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The electoral divisions shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to wards, parishes, or parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the electoral division and demarcated by red lines; and

⁽¹⁾ See the Borough of Ashford (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I.2001/3563), the City of Canterbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3564), the Borough of Dartford (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3560), the District of Dover (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3588), the Borough of Gravesham (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3587), the Borough of Maidstone (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3586), the District of Sevenoaks (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3557), the District of Shepway (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3558), the Borough of Swale (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3555), the District of Thanet (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3556), the Tonbridge and Malling (Electoral Changes) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3559).

⁽²⁾ See the County of Kent (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1981 (S.I. 1981/85). The area of the county of Kent was altered by the Greater London and Kent (County Boundaries) Order 1992 (S.I. 1992/2090), the East Sussex, West Sussex and Kent (County Boundaries) Order 1992 (S.I. 1992/2096), the Greater London, Kent and Surrey (County Boundaries) Order 1993 (S.I. 1993/400), the Kent and East Sussex (County Boundaries) Order 1993 (S.I. 1993/1742), and the Kent (Borough of Gillingham and City of Rochester upon Medway) (Structural Change) Order 1996 (S.I. 1996/1876).

the number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division shall be the number specified in respect of the electoral division in column (3) of the Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Maps

4. Kent County Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the County of Kent (Electoral Changes) Order 2004" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

Electoral registers

5. The Electoral Registration Officer(**3**) for each district, borough or city in the county shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

Revocation

6. The County of Kent (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1981(4) is revoked, save for article 4.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 28th day of October 2004

L.S.

28th October 2004

Sam Younger Chairman of the Commission

28th October 2004

Jacqui Dixon
Secretary to the Commission

⁽³⁾ As to electoral registration officers and the register of local government electors, *see* sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 1981/85.