## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2004 No. 2815

## The County of Kent (Electoral Changes) Order 2004

## Electoral divisions of the county of Kent

- **3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the county(1) shall be abolished.
- (2) The county shall be divided into seventy-two electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The electoral divisions shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to wards, parishes, or parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the electoral division and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division shall be the number specified in respect of the electoral division in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

<sup>(1)</sup> See the County of Kent (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1981 (S.I.1981/85). The area of the county of Kent was altered by the Greater London and Kent (County Boundaries) Order 1992 (S.I. 1992/2090), the East Sussex, West Sussex and Kent (County Boundaries) Order 1992 (S.I. 1992/2096), the Greater London, Kent and Surrey (County Boundaries) Order 1993 (S.I. 1993/400), the Kent and East Sussex (County Boundaries) Order 1993 (S.I. 1993/1742), and the Kent (Borough of Gillingham and City of Rochester upon Medway) (Structural Change) Order 1996 (S.I. 1996/1876).