STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 3218

The District of South Norfolk (Electoral Changes)Order 2002

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of South Norfolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"district" means the district of South Norfolk;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the District of South Norfolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2002", of which prints are available for inspection at—

- (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) the offices of South Norfolk District Council.

Wards of the district of South Norfolk

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(1) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into thirty-six wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Costessey

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Costessey shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names New Costessey and Old Costessey; and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward bearing the same name; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be eight.

See the District of South Norfolk (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 (S.I.1977/237), as amended by the South Norfolk (Parishes) Order 1981 (S.I. 1981/1597).

Wards of the parish of Diss

5. The parish of Diss shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Roydon

6. The parish of Roydon shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Wymondham

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Wymondham shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five parish wards which shall bear the names Abbey, Cromwells, Northfields, Rustens and Town; and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward bearing the same name, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be three.

Numbers of parish councillors

8. The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish of Cringleford shall be eleven, and for the parish of Hethersett shall be thirteen.

Maps

9. South Norfolk District Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the District of South Norfolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2002" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

Electoral registers

10. The Electoral Registration Officer(2) for the district shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

Revocation

11. The District of South Norfolk (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977(3) is revoked, save for article 5.

⁽²⁾ As to electoral registration officers and the register of local government electors, see sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

⁽³⁾ S.I. 1977/237.

Signed by the members of the Electoral Commission

12th December 2002	Pamela Gordon Commissioner
12th December 2002	Glyn Mathias Commissioner
12th December 2002	Neil McIntosh Commissioner
18th December 2002	Karamjit Singh Commissioner
12th December 2002	Sam Younger Commissioner
12th December 2002	Graham Zellick Commissioner