2002 No. 1491

NATIONAL HEALTH SERVICE, ENGLAND

The South Tees Acute Hospitals National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Amendment Order 2002

> Made - - - - 19th March 2002 Coming into force 1st April 2002

The Secretary of State for Health, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 126(3) and (4) of the National Health Service Act 1977(a) and section 5(1) of the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990(b) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, having completed the consultation prescribed under section 5(2) of that latter Act(c), hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Tees Acute Hospitals National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Amendment Order 2002 and shall come into force on 1st April 2002.
 - (2) In this Order—

"the Order" means the South Tees Acute Hospitals National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 1991(d);

"the trust" means the National Health Service trust established by the Order.

Further amendment of NHS trust establishment order

2.—(1) For article 3 of the Order (nature and functions of the trust) there shall be substituted the following article—

"Nature and functions of the trust

- **3.**—(1) The trust is established for the purposes specified in section 5(1) of the Act.
- (2) The trust's functions shall be to provide goods and services, namely hospital accommodation and services and community health services, for the purposes of the health

⁽a) 1977 c.49; section 126(3) and (4) was amended by the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990 (c.19), section 65(2), by the Health Authorities Act 1995 (c.17) ("the 1995 Act"), Schedule 1, paragraph 57, by the National Health Service (Primary Care) Act 1997 (c.19), Schedule 2, paragraph 27 and by the Health Act 1999 (c.8) ("the 1999 Act"), Schedule 4, paragraph 37.

⁽b) 1990 c.19; section 5 was amended by the 1995 Act, Schedule 1, paragraph 69 and by the 1999 Act, section 13(1).

⁽c) See S.I. 1996/653, regulation 2.

⁽d) S.I. 1991/2402, as amended by S.I. 1998/2950 and S.I. 2001/1537.

service at or from the James Cook University Hospital, Marton Road, Middlesbrough, TS4 3BW and at or from Friarage Hospital, Northallerton, DL6 1JG, and at or from any associated hospitals, establishments or facilities.".

(2) For article 4 of the Order (directors of the trust) there shall be substituted the following article—

"Directors of the trust

4. The trust shall have, in addition to the chairman, 5 executive and 6 non-executive directors."

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Health

Jacqui Smith Minister of State, Department of Health

19th March 2002

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order further amends the South Tees Acute Hospitals National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 1991, which established the South Tees Acute Hospitals National Health Service Trust.

Article 2 of the Order substitutes a new article 3 of the Establishment Order (nature and functions of the trust) and a new article 4 (directors of the Trust) which increases the number of non-executive directors to 6.

£1.50

© Crown copyright 2002