2001 No. 1016

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of Rushmoor (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Made - - - - 14th March 2001

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(**a**), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated July 2000 on its review of the borough(**b**) of Rushmoor together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(c) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Rushmoor (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.

- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 2nd May 2002, on 10th October 2001;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 2nd May 2002.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Rushmoor;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Rushmoor (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(d).

Wards of borough of Rushmoor

2.—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**e**) shall be abolished.

(2) The borough shall be divided into fourteen wards which shall bear the names set out in the Schedule.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the names of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be three.

⁽a) 1992 c. 19.

⁽b) The non-metropolitan district of Rushmoor has the status of a borough.

⁽c) Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c.29).

⁽d) S.I. 1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽e) See the Borough of Rushmoor (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/1549).

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Elections of the council of Rushmoor

3.—(1) Subject to the following provisions of this article, elections of councillors for wards of the borough shall be by thirds.

(2) Elections of all councillors for all wards of the borough shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2002(a).

(3) The councillors holding office for any ward of the borough immediately before 6th May 2002 shall retire on that date and the newly-elected councillors for those wards shall come into office on that date.

(4) Of the councillors elected in 2002 in each ward of the borough—

- (a) one shall retire in 2003 being, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6), the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes;
- (b) one shall retire in 2004 being, subject to those paragraphs, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes;
- (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 2006.

(5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.

(6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year shall be determined by lot.

(7) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

(8) Except as otherwise provided in the preceding paragraphs of this article, the term of office of councillors shall be four years; and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly-elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

Revocation

4. The Borough of Rushmoor (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

14th March 2001

Beverley Hughes Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

(a) For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29). NAMES OF WARDS

Cove and Southwood Empress Fernhill Grange Heron Wood Knellwood Manor Park Mayfield North Town Rowhill St. John's St. Mark's Wellington Westheath

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Rushmoor. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 2nd May 2002.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough of Rushmoor and provides for the creation of 14 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names of the new wards. Each ward will be represented by three councillors.

Article 3 makes provision for a whole council election in 2002 and for reversion to elections by thirds in subsequent years.

Article 4 revokes the Borough of Rushmoor (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976.

The areas of the new wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Rushmoor Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

£1.75 © Crown copyright 2000

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament. E221 3/2001 586593 19585

