2000 No. 3295

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of Ashfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Made - - - - 15th December 2000

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(a), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated May 2000 on its review of the district of Ashfield together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect, subject to one modification, to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(**b**) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Ashfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—
 - "district" means the district of Ashfield;
 - "existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Ashfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(c).

Wards of the district of Ashfield

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(**d**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into fifteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (2) of that Schedule.

⁽a) 1992 c. 19.

⁽b) Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽c) S.I. 1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽d) See the District of Ashfield (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/180) and the Nottinghamshire (District Boundaries) Order 1988 (S.I. 1988/61).

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Selston

- 3.—(1) The parish of Selston shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Revocation

4. The District of Ashfield (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 and articles 3(1)(b) and 3(2)(b) of the Nottinghamshire (District Boundaries) Order 1988 are hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

15th December 2000

SCHEDULE 1 article 2 NAMES OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	
Name of Ward	Number of Councillors	
Hucknall Central	2	
Hucknall East	2	
Hucknall North	2	
Hucknall West	3	
Jacksdale	1	
Kirkby in Ashfield Central	2	
Kirkby in Ashfield East	2	
Kirkby in Ashfield West	2	
Selston	2	
Sutton in Ashfield Central	3	
Sutton in Ashfield East	3	
Sutton in Ashfield North	3	
Sutton in Ashfield West	3	
Underwood	1	
Woodhouse	2	

SCHEDULE 2 article 3 WARDS OF THE PARISH OF SELSTON

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of Ward	(2) Area of Ward	(3) Number of Councillors
Jacksdale	So much of the district ward of Jacksdale as comprises part of the parish of Selston	6
Selston	So much of the district ward of Selston as comprises part of the parish of Selston	10
Underwood	So much of the district ward of Underwood as comprises part of the parish of Selston	5

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, subject to one modification, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Ashfield. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on or after 1st May 2003.

The Secretary of State has decided to retain the site of the former open cast mine known as 'Smotherfly', which the Local Government Commission recommended moving to the district ward of Selston, in the district ward of Jacksdale.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 15 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 makes electoral changes in the parish of Selston.

Article 4 revokes the District of Ashfield (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 and articles 3(1)(b) and 3(2)(b) of the Nottinghamshire (District Boundaries) Order 1988.

The areas of the new district wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Ashfield District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.



£1.75

© Crown copyright 2000