Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, subject to one modification, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the London borough of Bexley. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 2nd May 2002. The modification relates to the name of one of the proposed new wards: the Secretary of State has decided that the ward for which the Commission suggested the name "Mayplace" should be called "Barnehurst".

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the London borough of Bexley and provides for the creation of 21 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names of the new wards. Each ward will be represented by 3 councillors.

Article 3 revokes the London Borough of Bexley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

The areas of the new wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Council of the London Borough of Bexley and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.