STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 2694

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

Made - - - - 27th September 1999

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1998 on its review of the borough(2) of Erewash together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Erewash;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Erewash has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of Erewash

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-two wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes, or parish wards, or parishes and parish wards or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Ockbrook and Borrowash

- **3.**—(1) The parish of Ockbrook and Borrowash shall be divided into three wards which shall bear the names Borrowash East, Borrowash West and Ockbrook; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 3 by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Borrowash East and Borrowash West parish wards shall be four and for the Ockbrook parish ward shall be three.

Revocation

4. The Borough of Erewash (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions.

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

27th September 1999

SCHEDULE Article 2 NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Description of area	Number of councillors
Abbotsford		2
Breaston	The parish of Breaston	2
Cotmanhay		2
Derby Road East		2
Derby Road West		3
Draycott	The parishes of Draycott and Church Wilne, Hopwell, Risley and Stanton-by-Dale	2
Hallam Fields		2
Ilkeston Central		2
Ilkeston North		2
Kirk Hallam		3
Little Eaton and Breadsall	The parishes of Breadsall, Little Eaton and Morley	2
Little Hallam		2
Long Eaton Central		3
Nottingham Road		3
Ockbrook and Borrowash	The parish of Ockbrook and Borrowash	3
Old Park		2
Sandiacre North	The Sandiacre North parish ward of the parish of Sandiacre	2
Sandiacre South	The Sandiacre South parish ward of the parish of Sandiacre	2
Sawley		3
Stanley	The parish of Stanley and Stanley Common	1
West Hallam and Dale Abbey	The parish of West Hallam and the Dale Abbey Village parish ward of the parish of Dale Abbey	3
Wilsthorpe		3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Erewash. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 22 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 makes electoral changes in the parish of Ockbrook and Borrowash.

Article 4 revokes the Borough of Erewash (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Erewash Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.