1999 No. 1135

HOUSING, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Housing (Right to Acquire) (Discount) Order 1999

Made - - - - 12th April 1999
Laid before Parliament 19th April 1999
Coming into force 10th May 1999

The Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by sections 17(1)(a) and (5) of the Housing Act 1996(a) hereby makes the following Order:—

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Housing (Right to Acquire) (Discount) Order 1999 and shall come into force on 10th May 1999.
- (2) In this Order "area" means "county" or "district" as defined by section 270 of the Local Government Act 1972(b), a London borough or the City of London.

Amounts of discount

2. In relation to a dwelling-house in an area specified in Column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, the sum specified in Column 2 of that Schedule is the specified amount of discount for the purposes of section 16 of the Housing Act 1996 (the right to acquire).

Revocation

3. The Housing (Right to Acquire) (Discount) Order 1998(c) is hereby revoked.

Application

4. This Order does not apply in a case where a notice has been served claiming to exercise the right to acquire before this Order comes into force.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment,
Transport and the Regions

12th April 1999

⁽a) 1996 c. 52.

⁽b) 1972 c. 19.

⁽c) S.I. 1998/2014.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

AMOUNT OF DISCOUNT

Column 1	Column 2
Bath and North East Somerset	£11,000
Bedfordshire	£11,000
Berkshire	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Windsor and Maidenhead	£16,000
Bracknell Forest, Reading, Slough, Wokingham	£13,500
West Berkshire	£11,000
Blackburn and Darwen	£10,000
Blackpool	£10,000
Bournemouth	£11,000
Brighton and Hove	£11,000
City of Bristol	£11,000
Buckinghamshire	
South Buckinghamshire	£16,000
Chiltern, Wycombe	£13,500
Aylesbury Vale	£11,000
Cambridgeshire	
Cambridge	£13,500
South Cambridgeshire	£11,000
East Cambridgeshire, Huntingdonshire	£10,000
Fenland	£9,000
Cheshire	
Macclesfield	£11,000
Chester, Congleton, Crewe and Nantwich, Ellesmere Port and Neston, Vale Royal	£10,000
Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly	
The Isles of Scilly	£16,000
Carrick, Kerrier, Penwith	£10,000
Caradon, North Cornwall, Restormel	£9,000
Cumbria	£10,000
Darlington	£10,000
Derby	£9,000
Derbyshire	
Chesterfield, Derbyshire Dales, High Peak, North East Derbyshire	£10,000
Amber Valley, Bolsover, Erewash, South Derbyshire	£9,000
Devon	
South Hams	£11,000
East Devon, Exeter, Mid Devon, North Devon, Teignbridge, Torridge, West Devon	£10,000

Column 1	Column 2
Dorset	£11,000
Durham	
Durham	£10,000
Chester-le-Street, Derwentside, Easington, Sedgefield, Teesdale, Wear Valley	£9,000
East Riding of Yorkshire	£10,000
East Sussex	
Eastbourne, Hastings, Lewes, Wealden	£11,000
Rother	£10,000
Essex	
Epping Forest, Harlow	£13,500
Basildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Castle Point, Chelmsford, Colchester, Maldon, Rochford, Uttlesford	£11,000
Tendring	£10,000
Gloucestershire	
Cheltenham, Cotswold	£11,000
Forest of Dean, Gloucester, Stroud, Tewkesbury	£10,000
Greater London	
Barnet, Brent, Camden, City of London, Ealing, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Wandsworth, Westminster	£16,000
Barking and Dagenham, Bexley, Bromley, Croydon, Enfield, Greenwich, Lewisham, Newham, Redbridge, Sutton, Waltham Forest	£13,500
Havering	£11,000
Greater Manchester	
Manchester, Stockport, Trafford	£11,000
Bolton, Bury, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Tameside, Wigan	£10,000
Halton	£10,000
Hampshire	
Basingstoke and Deane, East Hampshire, Hart, Rushmoor, Winchester	£13,500
Eastleigh, Fareham, Gosport, Havant, New Forest, Test Valley	£11,000
Hartlepool	£9,000
Herefordshire	£10,000
Hertfordshire	
Three Rivers	£16,000
Broxbourne, Dacorum, East Hertfordshire, Hertsmere, St Albans, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield	£13,500
North Hertfordshire, Stevenage	£11,000
Isle of Wight	£10,000

Column 1	Column 2
Kent	
Sevenoaks, Tonbridge and Malling	£13,500
Ashford, Canterbury, Dartford, Dover, Gravesham, Maidstone, Swale, Thanet, Tunbridge Wells	£11,000
Shepway	£10,000
City of Kingston-upon-Hull	£10,000
Lancashire	
West Lancashire	£11,000
Burnley, Chorley, Fylde, Hyndburn, Lancaster, Pendle, Preston, Ribble Valley, Rossendale, South Ribble, Wyre	£10,000
Leicester	£10,000
Leicestershire	£10,000
Lincolnshire	
Lincoln	£10,000
Boston, East Lindsey, North Kesteven, South Holland, South Kesteven, West Lindsey	£9,000
Luton	£11,000
The Medway Towns	£11,000
Merseyside	£10,000
Middlesbrough	£10,000
Milton Keynes	£11,000
Norfolk	
Broadland, King's Lynn and West Norfolk, Norwich	£10,000
Breckland, Great Yarmouth, North Norfolk, South Norfolk	£9,000
Northamptonshire	£10,000
North East Lincolnshire	£10,000
North Lincolnshire	£9,000
North Somerset	£10,000
Northumberland	
Alnwick, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Castle Morpeth, Tynedale	£10,000
Byth Valley, Wansbeck	£9,000
North Yorkshire	
Harrogate	£11,000
Craven, Hambleton, Richmondshire, Ryedale, Scarborough, Selby	£10,000
Nottingham	£10,000
Nottinghamshire	
Broxtowe, Gedling, Rushcliffe	£10,000
Ashfield, Bassetlaw, Mansfield, Newark and Sherwood	£9,000

Column 1	Column 2
Oxfordshire	
Oxford £	£13,500
Cherwell, South Oxfordshire, West Oxfordshire, Vale of White Horse	£11,000
Peterborough £	£10,000
Plymouth £	£11,000
Poole	£11,000
Portsmouth £	£11,000
Redcar and Cleveland £	£9,000
Rutland	£10,000
Shropshire	
Bridgnorth, Oswestry, Shrewsbury and Atcham, South Shropshire	£10,000
North Shropshire £	£9,000
Somerset	
Mendip, South Somerset, Taunton Deane, West Somerset	£10,000
Sedgemoor	E9,000
Southampton £	£11,000
Southend-on-Sea £	£11,000
South Gloucestershire £	£11,000
South Yorkshire	
Doncaster, Sheffield £	£10,000
Barnsley, Rotherham £	£9,000
Staffordshire	
Cannock Chase, Lichfield, South Staffordshire, Stafford, Staffordshire Moorlands, Tamworth	£10,000
East Staffordshire, Newcastle-under-Lyme £	£9,000
Stockton-on-Tees £	E9,000
Stoke-on-Trent £	£10,000
Suffolk	
Babergh, Forest Heath, Ipswich, Mid Suffolk, St Edmundsbury, Suffolk Coastal	£10,000
Waveney	£9,000
Surrey	
Guildford	£16,000
Elmbridge, Epsom and Ewell, Mole Valley, Reigate and Banstead, Runnymede, Spelthorne, Surrey Heath, Tandridge, Waverley, Woking	£13,500
Swindon £	£11,000
Telford and the Wrekin	£10,000
Thurrock £	£11,000
Torbay	£10,000
Tyne and Wear	£10,000
Warrington	£10,000

Column 1	Column 2
Warwickshire	
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick	£11,000
North Warwickshire, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Rugby	£10,000
West Midlands	
Birmingham, Solihull	£11,000
Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Walsall, Wolverhampton	£10,000
West Sussex	
Crawley, Horsham, Mid Sussex	£13,500
Adur, Arun, Chichester, Worthing	£11,000
West Yorkshire	
Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds	£10,000
Wakefield	£9,000
Wiltshire	
Kennet, North Wiltshire, Salisbury	£11,000
West Wiltshire	£10,000
Worcestershire	
Bromsgrove, Wyre Forest	£11,000
Malvern Hills, Redditch, Worcester, Wychavon	£10,000
York	£11,000

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order specifies the amount of discount for the purposes of section 17 of the Housing Act 1996 (the right to acquire). Tenants of registered social landlords who have a right to acquire their homes under sections 16 and 17 of the 1996 Act are able to do so with a discount from the purchase price. The amount of the discount varies according to the area in which the dwelling is situated.

The Order replaces the Housing (Right to Acquire) (Discount) Order 1998, and in so doing changes the amount of discount payable in 56 local authority areas.

1999 No. 1135

HOUSING, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Housing (Right to Acquire) (Discount) Order 1999