STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3139

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES WALES

The County of Denbighshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998

Made - - - 23rd November 1998

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Secretary of State for Wales, in exercise of his powers under sections 58(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him in August 1997 under sections 58(1) and 64 of that Act(2) by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales:

Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the County of Denbighshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1999 except that for the purposes of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force immediately.

Electoral divisions

- 2.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Denbighshire shall be abolished and the County shall be divided into 30 electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified opposite thereto in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified opposite thereto in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

^{(1) 1972} c. 70. Section 67(5) was amended by section 40(1) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29), article 3(a) of the Government Act (References to Aldermen) Order 1977, S.I.1977/1710 and section 66(5) and (8) of, Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 15, and Schedule 18 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19).

⁽²⁾ Section 58(1) was amended by section 66(5) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 11 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. Section 64 was substituted by section 6 to that Act of 1994.

Register of local government electors

3. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Wales

Jon Owen Jones
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Welsh
Office

23rd November 1998

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

(1) Name of New Electoral	(2) Area of New Electoral	(3) Number of Councillors
Division	Division	
Bodelwyddan	The Community of Bodelwyddan	1
Corwen	The Community of Corwen	1
Denbigh Central	The Central ward of the Community of Denbigh	1
Denbigh Lower	The Lower ward of the Community of Denbigh	2
Denbigh Upper/Henllan	The Upper ward of the Community of Denbigh and the Community of Henllan	2
Dyserth	The Community of Dyserth	1
Efenechtyd	The Communities of Betws Gwerfil Goch, Clocaenog, Derwen and Efenechtyd	1
Llanarmon-yn-Ial/Llandegla	The Communities of Llanarmon-yn-Ial, Llandegla and Llanferres	1
Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd/ Llangynhafal	The Communities of Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd and Llangynhafal	1
Llandrillo	The Communities of Cynwyd and Llandrillo	1
Llandyrnog	The Communities of Aberwheeler, Llandyrnog and Llanynys	1
Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd/ Gwyddelwern	The Communities of Bryneglwys, Gwyddelwern, Llanelidan and Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd	1
Llangollen	The Communities of Llangollen and Llantysilio	2
Llanrhaeadr-yng-Nghinmeirch	The Communities of Cyffylliog, Llanrhaeadr-yng- Nghinmeirch and Nantglyn	1
Prestatyn Meliden	The Meliden ward of the Community of Prestatyn	1

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Prestatyn Central	The Central ward of the Community of Prestatyn	2
Prestatyn East	The East ward of the Community of Prestatyn	2
Prestatyn North	The North and North West wards of the Community of Prestatyn	3
Prestatyn South West	The South West ward of the Community of Prestatyn	2
Rhuddlan	The Community of Rhuddlan	2
Rhyl East	The East and East Central wards of the Community of Rhyl	2
Rhyl South	The South ward of the Community of Rhyl	2
Rhyl South East	The South East ward of the Community of Rhyl	3
Rhyl South West	The South Central and South West wards of the Community of Rhyl	2
Rhyl West	The West and West Central wards of the Community of Rhyl	2
Ruthin	The Community of Ruthin	3
St. Asaph East	The East ward of the Community of St. Asaph	1
St. Asaph West	The West ward of the Community of St. Asaph	1
Trefnant	The Communities of Cefnmeiriadog and Trefnant	1
Tremeirchion	The Communities of Bodfari, Cwm, Tremeirchion and Waen	1