STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 2571

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Barrow-in-Furness (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

Made - - - 16th October 1998

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1997 on its review of the borough(2) of Barrow-in-Furness together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Barrow-in-Furness (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on the day after the day on which it is made.
 - (3) In this Order-

"the borough" means the borough of Barrow-in-Furness;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions, marked "Map of the Borough of Barrow-in-Furness (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Barrow-in-Furness has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of Barrow-in-Furness

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into thirteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of that ward in column (2) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Elections of the council of Barrow-in-Furness

- **3.**—(1) Subject to the following provisions of this article, the election of councillors for wards of the borough shall be by thirds.
- (2) Elections of all councillors for wards of the borough shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1999(6).
- (3) The councillors holding office for any ward in the borough immediately before 10th May 1999 shall retire on that date and the newly elected councillors for any such ward shall come into office on that date.
 - (4) Of the councillors elected in 1999 in each ward of the borough, other than Barrow Island—
 - (a) one-third shall retire in 2000 being, subject to paragraphs (6) and (7) below, the councillor elected in each such ward by the smallest number of votes;
 - (b) one third shall retire in 2002 being, subject to paragraphs (6) and (7) below, the councillor elected in each such ward by the next smallest number of votes; and
 - (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 2003.
 - (5) Of the councillors elected in 1999 for the Barrow Island ward of the borough-
 - (a) one councillor shall retire in 2002 being, subject to paragraphs (6) and (7) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes, and
 - (b) the remaining councillor shall retire in 2003.
- (6) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any such year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.
- (7) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each such year shall be determined by lot.
- (8) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.
- (9) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this article, the term of office of councillors shall be four years and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

⁽⁵⁾ see The Borough of Barrow-in-Furness (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/1545).

⁽⁶⁾ For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

Wards of the parish of Dalton Town with Newton

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Dalton Town with Newton shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Anty Cross & Newton, Beckside, and Dowdales and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Beckside and Dowdales parish wards shall be three and the number of councillors to be elected for the Anty Cross & Newton parish ward shall be four.

Revocation

5. The Borough of Barrow-in-Furness (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

16th October 1998

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)
Name of new ward	Number of councillors
Barrow Island	2
Central	3
Dalton North	3
Dalton South	3
Hawcoat	3
Hindpool	3
Newbarns	3
Ormsgill	3
Parkside	3
Risedale	3
Roosecote	3
Walney North	3
Walney South	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the Borough of Barrow-in-Furness.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 13 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for the new wards.

Article 3 makes provision for a whole council election in Barrow-in-Furness in 1999 and for reversion to elections by thirds in subsequent years.

Article 4 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Dalton Town with Newton and provides for the creation of three new wards and the number of councillors.

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Barrow-in-Furness Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

Document Generated: 2023-06-27

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.